Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Wednesday December 19th

Not much happening again.

Monday night I did a little more on the crochet dolls for the girls presents, Eddie and I played some Kinect games on the Xbox.

Tuesday night I made some salt dough ornaments. (Not with Vallerie). Since I didn't have a ton of time to oven dry them, I decided to let them air dry all night (and probably all day today). I went to take a look at my creations, and flip them over and I noticed... cat paw prints! My damn cat got on the table (which he is NOT supposed to do) and stepped in like 7 of them! Arg! I was so mad!

That's all I have to report...

Monday, December 17, 2012

Monday December 17th

We had a good weekend. We didn't do much, but it was still good.

I really can't remember anything noteworthy that happened, other than Vallerie's potty chair making noises when no one was near it. I told Eddie that it was probably  just some little ghost using it. He said it was probably the batteries going dead. (Party pooper)

I finished one of the things I needed to make for Christmas gifts. The next thing I have to finish are the crochet dolls. Ugh. I should have finished those a long time ago.

OH I remember. Saturday or maybe it was Friday night... Vallerie and I went shopping at Hobby Lobby. We got some good stuff for the family. I still have a couple more things to get, but I am pretty much done.

This weekend Eddie and I are going out to finish up the kids shopping and also buy Vallerie some Christmas attire. Yay. Then maybe if my mom is up for it, Sunday we will go Clothes shopping for me! Whoo Hoo!

I can't believe that Christmas is almost here and it hasn't gotten below 30 degrees (daytime). I want snow damn it!

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Thursday December 13th

Once again, not much is happening in the land of Lauren. Tuesday after work I made some ornaments.

Yesterday I worked from home. I had a doctors appt after work. I made dinner (frozen stuff) and then played Halo 4.

Vallerie woke up last night with a fever of 104. Eddie put her in the tub and she cooled off a little. Then we took her into our room and tried to get her to sleep in our bed. It worked a little, but she was up most of the night I think. So, around 6 am I put her back in her bed and she slept until 10. She still had about a 101 fever this morning, but we gave her some medicine. She's acting pretty normal, she's just got the fever.

Tomorrow is our annual Christmas carry in lunch and gift exchange. I got put in charge of getting it all together (less than a week before the date) But I think I have everything under control. I am going to try and make cupcakes tonight. I don't know if I will have time.

I haven't had a soda in a couple days. Only water and a little tea. I have also been cutting out the sugar. It's not easy, but I am getting too fat!

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Tuesday December 11th

The weekend was pretty good. I picked up our replacement table on Saturday. I also got 2 more chairs. It looks really nice. Now all we need is a rug.

Sunday we didn't do much but hang out at home.

Yesterday was the same really. Not too much happening around here.

Vallerie has been more fussy when she doesn't get her way. She's still doing good in her big girl bed, although last night she thought she would be sneaky and watch Eddie and me from under her door. We were at the dining room table doing Christmas cards and we hear her giggle. Eddie goes to her door and she's laying on the floor looking under the door. He told her to go back to bed, and she did. Then 10 minutes later we hear her playing, so Eddie peeks in and he sees her run to her bed and get under the covers. She (I think) went to bed soon after that.

There are now Disney movies on Netflix. I have been trying to get Vallerie to watch Dumbo, but she isn't interested. Guess I will watch it all by myself.

I need to get working on handmade Christmas presents. Vallerie has some crafting to do too. I might wait until my mom is here so she can help! I will have to get on Pinterst and get some ideas.

Friday, December 7, 2012

Friday December 7th

This week has been a little slow and uneventful.

I started making more ornaments. I have about 20 in process. So, each night I will do a little more work on them.

Wednesday I went out and bought new ornaments for the Christmas tree at work. It was pretty fun. Vallerie went with me, and she was pretty good, so I bought her a little pink stuffed bear.

Thursday I decorated the tree at work. It was really fun. It looks pretty good. Here are a few pictures: (It looks a lot better in person)



This weekend we are going to exchange our dining room table for an undamaged one. That should be... fun.

That's about it. Like I said, uneventful. (But that's ok)









Monday, December 3, 2012

Monday December 3rd

We had a very nice weekend I suppose.

Saturday Vallerie and I walked to my grandpas house and met my Aunt. (It was almost 60 degrees!) We then rode in the Christmas parade on the trolley. It was pretty fun. Vallerie had a good time waving at people through the window. After it was over we all walked home.

After Vallerie's nap we started the 1st day of the advent tree calendar that my mom bought. She got a chocolate. She wanted to open more doors. I was cute.

Saturday night I wrapped presents. We held some of them back to put under the tree on Christmas Eve.

Sunday we didn't go anywhere, no that's a lie, I went to ALCO and used a $12 coupon. I bought a few little things and also a really cool cookie cutter that cuts out an entire little house that you assemble after baking. It's pretty ingenious really. We cleaned the house a bit. Vallerie opened door two on the advent calendar. She got a little eraser this time. She was disappointed, and actually tried to eat it.

It's about 70 degrees out today. I am a little ticked. Where is the cold weather and snow? I want snow! It doesn't feel like Christmas without snow. People keep telling me that it will be here soon. Well, that's not soon enough!

Have not made Christmas cards yet. Not sure if I am going to make any this year. I don't know if I have time. I may just cop out and buy some. I guess I still have a little time to get some made, but I don't even have any pictures or anything. ARG!

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Thursday November 29th

Not much has been happening the last couple days.

Vallerie got into the fridge and ate a few handfuls of brownies before Eddie stopped her.

Eddie and I watched a movie called Wanderlust, it was weird. Not bad, but just kinda weird.

Vallerie is doing great in her bed. Every night we read her a story. She really likes Splat the cat. I think that may be her go to story. Eddie reads it the best though.

Um... I can't think of anything else really. We didn't win the powerball 550 million jackpot. We "won" $4, but I converted it into scratch offs and they were losers. Oh well.

Monday, November 26, 2012

Monday November 26th

I haven't blogged in about 2 weeks. There's been a lot going on and I just didn't have the time.

On Tuesday the 13th my grandfather fell at the dentist. He went to the hospital in Indy. My mom, sister and cousin all came to Indiana.

We all visited him in the hospital on Wednesday. He was conscious, but on sedatives and had a breathing tube in so he couldn't talk, he was trying so hard to say something to my aunt. On Thursday we visited him again, but this time he was not so good. We stayed for a while that day and the family decided to take his breathing tube out on Friday so he could try and talk. As my mom and I were close to home we got a call to turn around and go back to the hospital. His heart, kidneys, and liver were failing. His blood pressure was getting so low they had to pump him full of meds to keep it up. We got there in time for them to take out his breathing tube. He passed away quietly.

My only regrets are that he didn't get to see Vallerie again, and that we will never know what he was trying to say to my aunt on Wednesday. I also wish I would have listened to Eddie more. He was always suggesting that we go over to my gpa's house, but I never wanted to. I always had some stupid excuse.

Today is the first day I have been back to work in about 2 weeks. We had a "normal" Thanksgiving. Eddie made his first turkey and we had his sister, her husband, and their baby over for lunch. Everything was delicious. We got our dining room table the day before, but when Eddie was assembling it we saw that there was a huge ding on the side. The furniture place is supposed to call us to schedule getting a replacement. Thanksgiving night Vallerie and I went to my uncle's house and had dinner with the rest of the family.

Yesterday Eddie and Vallerie put up the Christmas tree, and I decorated it. I think it looks pretty good. Eddie said that this morning when Vallerie got up and walked in the room, her eyes got really big and she said "WOW"... or something to that effect. I wish I could have been there to see it.

We also took Vallerie's crib apart and she is now in a big girl bed. She has been doing good so far. We haven't noticed her getting up in the middle of the night. There is a baby gate in front of her door, so if she does get up, she won't get out. Normally she will open her door in the morning, and yell "Good Morning" or yell for her daddy. (It's pretty cute) My mom bought her a super cute bed set. It's got candy on it, and it matches her room really well.

That's all I can remember. I know a lot of other things went on, but really they don't seem too important at this point.

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Tuesday November 13th

Got some really terrible news yesterday. My grandpa is dying.

He fell at the dentist and got knocked unconscious and then stopped breathing. The dentist did CPR and then he got taken to the hospital. While he was there they found a brain aneurysm. He was supposed to have emergency surgery, but the doctors decided that it wouldn't do him any good. So, we don't know how long he will live. He is in Indianapolis now. I will probably go see him today or tomorrow. My cousin flew in from CA and my mom and sister may drive in soon too.

 While all this was happening, I went to the midnight release of Call of Duty Black Ops 2. (video game). There were probably 200 people in line. I was # 120. It was a decent distraction from what was happening with my gpa. I got home at about 1am.

Tomorrow and Thursday I am going to work from home.

That's all there is to say right now... I am very sad.

Monday, November 12, 2012

Monday November 12th

We had a great weekend!

Friday night I went and bought Halo 4 for the xbox. This was a gift to myself. Eddie and I played it all night and then when we got up on Saturday we played it too.

Saturday I went to the store and got some cat food. While I was there I looked around for some Christmas presents. I found a couple things for Vallerie, nothing too exciting. I did however find a really cool plastic pony for $5. I was going to buy it, but I guess I set it down in the store when I was looking at something else, because when I got home it wasn't in my bags or on my receipt.

Sunday I went into town to exchange Vallerie's stick horse that had corroded batteries, and I did a little shopping too. I went to Walmart and got some things. We're going to convert Vallerie's crib into a real little bed next week (Thanksgiving Vacation) and I wanted to get some sheets, but I didn't find anything I liked. I did get her a pillow. Maybe the pillow will make her want to get rid of that dang dog she sleeps on.

I also went to the dollar store and got Vallerie some little toys. Eddie was not happy with the amount I spent there, so he was a little irritated at me when I got home. I really don't care though. I think I did good, and Vallerie's Christmas shopping is just about done. There's only one mote thing I want to get her.

After Vallerie was in bed Eddie and I played some more Halo and then we watched The Woman in Black. It was kind of stupid. It had the Harry Potter kid in it though.

Friday, November 9, 2012

Friday November 9th

Yesterday was pretty good. After I got home we didn't do much really. I went to Pizza King and got some dinner. I even called in the order myself!

After we ate and Vallerie was in bed Eddie and I watched 3 episodes of The Walking Dead. I love that show! We still have 1 left on the TIVO, but we're going to wait until we record the next episode to watch it.

Vallerie has been a real jumping bean lately. She doesn't really walk around the house, she hops. It's really cute.

This weekend should be pretty mellow. Nothing planned. YAY! I might go to Toys R Us and exchange Vallerie's stick horse, but that's about it. Maybe look for a cabinet to store towels in. Not really sure.

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Thursday November 8th

Tuesday after work we went Christmas shopping with Vallerie. We went to the dollar store and she picked out presents for the family. It was fun. This year she actually walked around and picked up things she liked and put them in the shopping cart. We had to guide her a little. When we first walked in there was a display of fake flowers, and if it was up to her, everyone would have gotten fake flowers.

Yesterday was a pretty good day. I worked from home, so it was a more relaxing day. I got some more ornaments made. I have about 9 to send to my mom. I will probably mail them next week. I have several others to finish up first.

After I got off of work I watched the last episode of season 2 of The Walking Dead. Now Eddie and I can start watching season 3 together. Then I watched a couple episodes of Dr. Who and went to bed.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Tusday November 6th

Yesterday when I got home we had to rush out of the house to get something paid for Eddie. We got that done and then we dropped little pumpkin off at Eddie's moms house and Eddie and I went shopping!

We went to Toys R US and got Vallerie most of her Christmas presents. Eddie saw some plastic power tools and thought those were super cool, so we got those, and some other things as well. We also got a train that we'll put under the tree on Christmas Eve. I think she will like it. We will still probably get her some more stuff, but I think for the most part she is good.

I think today we are going out to get the other kids presents. Not sure what we'll get them, but we have a few ideas.

I am super tired today. I think that the cold meds I take at night really make me tired the next day.

I was thinking about selling some of my paper ornaments online. I will send some to my mom of course, but I have a feeling that I will have a ton left over and not know what to do with them. Maybe some of the girls at work will want some, who knows. They are really fun to make (and I just bought some new beads!) so that's not a problem.

Monday, November 5, 2012

Monday November 5th

This weekend was a little busy.

Saturday we went out and were going to do some Christmas shopping, but didn't have time. We looked for dining room tables and by the time we were done looking, Vallerie was ready to go home. She was at her gmas house and her cousins had to leave, so after they left she was not happy.

Sunday we stayed home and cleaned a little bit. We're all sick with colds,so it was a slow clean. I went to the store and got some liquids (juice, milk, tea) and I popped over to the cereal isle. Guess what I found... ALPHABITS! I was super happy. I bought them of course. When I got home Vallerie saw them and said "Super Why", Yes, they had the Super Why characters on the box. She's so smart.

I also made apple crisp for the first time. We had some apples that needed to be eaten, so I made the crisp. It was really easy, and Eddie and I thought it was great. Vallerie just ate the apples.
I think that we will go out and try to do some more shopping today, but who knows. I think we're going to get the 7yr olds easy bake ovens. I was telling Eddie that I remember getting his sister an easy bake oven when she was 8. It was a little weird to think that we have been together that long and I knew his sister when she was as old as her step daughter.

I was thinking about toys for Vallerie. She really likes Umizoomi. They have some toys, so I think we might get those for her.

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Thursday November 1st

Yesterday was pretty awesome.

Eddie and I had a car appt at noon, so I worked a split shift. After work we got Vallerie dressed up in her Halloween costume and went over to my Grandpas house.

My Aunt and Gpa were there and we had a good time. My Gpa made up a cute little story about being the Pumpkin Man. Vallerie didn't really pay attention to it, but I thought it was cute. She got some good candy and a few little extras too.

Then we went over to Eddie's sisters to go trick or treating. It was pretty fun. Vallerie walked the whole time. She did get a little fussy at the end, but I think she was cold, tired, and hungry. She got some pretty good loot though.

After we got home we fed Vallerie and put her to bed. I made a couple more ornaments and watched the Walking Dead on Netflix. Then I went to bed.

Today has been super busy. Eddie had a couple errands to do in town this morning, so we did those and then made a quick trip to Hobby Lobby. I got some paper and was going to get the super awesome pink chandelier for Vallerie's room, but Eddie noticed that it was not a light fixture, it was a hanging light with a cord, so that won't work. Now we are going to look at other stores to see if they have what I actually want.

I am working late today so I have a long time until I can go home. It already feels like I have put in a full days work, and that was before I even set foot in the office.

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Tuesday October 30th

Yesterday was pretty good. After I got home Vallerie and I went outside and picked up some of the remaining walnuts in the yard. They were all slimey and black... ick. Then Vallerie played on her swing set for a little while.

After we were inside we decided to watch the Smurfs. We all cuddled up on the couch and started watching it. Vallerie sat still for about 20 minutes, and then she was up running around and beating up Eddie and me. Eddie and I finished it. It was not very good. I'm not surprised that Vallerie didn't sit still.

After Vallerie was in bed I read a little and then headed out to get Eddie's game a midnight. While I was waiting I went to Walmart and got some more little wooden animals. I am going to put magnets on them so Vallerie can play with them on the fridge like she does with her other ones.

When I got home, I went to bed. It was late and I needed to get up early.

Today Eddie is going to the license branch and is getting an ID. Not sure if we will do anything after that. I think we are having pork chops for dinner. Yum Yum.

Monday, October 29, 2012

Monday October 29th

This weekend was pretty good.

Friday Eddie had an appointment in Lafayette. After we got that all settled we came home and I went to work (in my office upstairs) It was great, however I did run into some problems, and was on the phone with Tech Support for about 2 hours until I was finally able to work.

Saturday we went to Monticello and did a small amount of Trick or Treating. We went to a co-worker's church and did what they called "Trunk or Treat". It was chilly, so after that we headed to Walmart and got a few things. On our way out Subway gave Vallerie a balloon. Vallerie thought this balloon was the greatest thing in the whole world. She was laughing and playing with it the whole way home, and wanted it during dinner too.

Sunday we stayed home. I cleaned the house a little bit. I also fixed Vallerie's wooden letters from he door, and made some new ornaments to send to my mom.

Friday morning I smoked my last cigarette. So, needless to say everything is a lot more irritating than normal (like how my god damn keys aren't typing every letter I press)... among other things. I hope it gets easier. As the day goes on it isn't as bad, but the morning is the worst!

Tonight I am going to a midnight release for a game Eddie has wanted for a long time. It's a big one, so there's going to be lots of people (dorks) there. There's also going to be a costume contest (which I am not entering). I hope it goes by fast though. I really don't want to be standing in line for hours.

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Wednesday October 24th

Yesterday was a pretty good day. After I got home I read a little, then we ate dinner.

After Vallerie was in bed I finished up the Tardis Can coozies I was making and then I read a little more and went to bed.

Not terribly exciting, but it was still a good night.

Working late today, so I still have a little over an hour to go until I can go home.

I was thinking about Vallerie's Halloween bucket. Right now she has a pumpkin and a witch's cauldron. I was thinking of taking one of her Easter buckets and covering it with paper so it looks like a pirate's treasure chest. It shouldn't be too hard, and I think every good pirate needs a treasure chest! So, maybe I will do that tonight, maybe I won't.

I was thinking of going to Boo at the Zoo tomorrow. (With Vallerie and Eddie of course) Not sure how the weather will be. Then I think Saturday we might come to Monticello and trick or treat since that's the day the town is doing it. I guess we will have to see how the rest of the week goes.

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Tuesday October 23rd

We had a good weekend. Saturday we went into town and got some groceries. Vallerie wore her new cute Halloween outfit that my aunt got her. She looked so cute! We got some pictures.

Then on Sunday we stayed home and didn't do much. I put Vallerie's Halloween costume on her and she ran around the house in it. Then I put on her bee costume from last year. She thought it was a butterfly and kept calling herself a butterfly. It was cute.

Yesterday I worked from home. It was so nice!

I started working on my ornaments. I have about 14 made, they just need the beads in the middle of each flower. I also finished several can coozies for my co-worker. I still have 2 left to do though. Little details on those.

I started reading The Witching Hour by Anne Rice again. I started where I left off last time which was 1/2 way through. Luckily I didn't need to start over again.

That's about it. I think working from home yesterday chilled me out a little bit. That's a great thing.

Monday, October 15, 2012

Monday October 15th

We had a nice weekend.

Friday after I got home we stayed home and didn't do much. I got off work at 6pm, so by the time I got home and settled in it was dinner and Vallerie bed time.

Saturday we went grocery shopping at Walmart, and we also went and got Vallerie's Halloween costume. She picked out a pirate. It's a pretty pirate. It's got like this cute little pink and black tutu dress. We got her a hook too. She played with that all weekend. Saying Arrr and hooking things. It was cute.

While we were in the store she found a plastic clever, and was chopping Eddie and I with it. She then proceeded to try and chop other people with it. Luckily I stopped her from chopping this nice lady walking by us. She also found a pair of big glasses (like clowns wear) and kept putting those on and looking at people. She got a lot of giggles from strangers. She was not scared this year like she was last year which was good.

Saturday night I played the Sims for a little while. I made our family. Then Eddie and I watched Snow White and the Huntsman. It was decent. Not great, but not horrible. One of the better Netflix movies's we've gotten I suppose.

Sunday was cleaning day. I got all the laundry done! It's been piling up for about 2 weeks, so I was happy to get it all clean. I was folding Vallerie's laundry, and she saw her bunny outfit that my mom got her. She immedieately wanted it on. So, I put it on her. She started hopping around and would not take off the hood (with bunny ears) all day. Her head was sweating, but she did not want it off. It was pretty cute. After her nap I did the dishes and Vallerie hopped around the house. After I was done and Eddie was cooking dinner Vallerie layed on our bed and watched Gumby on the laptop. She was so cute. She's growing up too fast!

After we ate, and Vallerie was in bed, I watched some tv and crocheted Vallerie a little hat. It's nothing special, but it was with varigated yarn, so it's simple, but cute. Eddie thought it was adorable. (He's my best critic) The I started on another hat for Vallerie. This one is going to be a panda hat. I got the base done, now all I have to do is the black parts. (Ears, eyes, and trim) I should be able to do that tonight.

Vallerie has had a runny nose all weekend, and she has passed her cold on to me. I am hoping it's not that bad of a cold. Vallerie doesn't have any other symptoms (that I can see) other than the runny nose. I however have a sore throat, and a headache.

Tomorrow is my moms birthday. I hope her presents get there today or tomorrow. That would be nice.

I have a dentist appointment tomorrow. I know I have cavities. I can barely eat sweets (maybe that's a good thing) but lately I haven't been able to tolerate hot or cold on one side of my mouth. I don't like going to the dentist, but at least they can fix me up. I just hope they don't yell at me. I don't take very good care of my teeth.

Friday, October 12, 2012

Friday October 12th

I am SO glad it's Friday!

Yesterday after I got home, Vallerie did some painting. She painted some pictures and some rocks. I took pictures and video. It was fun. Then she was super messy so she took a little bath.

After that we hung out in the living room and she watched Umi Zoomi and I finished up the bee hats I was making for my sisters friend.

After Vallerie was in bed, I made a birthday present for my mom and then watched some tv. Then I went to bed.

I was hoping to work from home on Monday, but apparently my computer doesn't have the software stuff on there to do it. So, I have to wait until Monday when the IT guy can fix it. I really really wanted to work from home that day! Arg! I am glad that I tested it out at work because I would have been super pissed if I would have tried it Monday morning at home (after NOT getting ready) and then having to get ready and come into the office.

Not sure what our weekend plans are. We need to get groceries and Vallerie still needs her Halloween costume, so we will probably do that.

I might make Vallerie some more hats. The pumpkin hat I made her is good, but there's too much green at the top, so I will probably make her a new one and maybe give the one she has to one of her cousins.

Thursday, October 11, 2012

Thursday October 11th

Yesterday after I got home we went into town and saw Eddie's mom. She seems to be doing fine after her surgery.

Then we stopped by McDonald's and got dinner. It was probably 8:30 when we got home.

Talked to my mom on the phone.

I watched some netflix and Eddie played some games on the xbox.

Been a little irritated at work lately. Since we are working for multiple companies they all expect us to work miracles. One in particular said that we were sending too many calls to them from customers that want to make payments. (really?!) Now we are responsible for taking their Credit Card info and FAXING that info to them. If that's not bad enough (you know cc info all over the place who knows if someone can get their hands on it) if the customer wants to know what their balance is, we have no way of knowing what it is! It just really pisses me off that we're expected to do this but don't have the information or the systems we need to accurately do it. On top of that there are... people... that might be able to get that information, but they don't.

I was thinking of quitting smoking, but the way things are going, I doubt that will happen any time soon. I just want to go home and crawl into bed and stay there.

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Wednesday October 10th

I think I forgot to blog yesterday.

Lets see... Monday night I crocheted 2 bee hats and finished Vallerie's pumpkin hat. I have more work to do on the bee hats though.

Yesterday after I got home (from a kinda crappy day) Vallerie and I watched some tv and then after she went to bed I watched Cabin in the Woods. It was a really crappy movie. No one should ever see it.

Then I went to bed.

The landlord called some people to come fix our floor. They have been over twice already and they are coming back in a week. I don't know what the problem is.

Also, the work from home program has started back up. There are a couple catches though. We only get 35 days from October to May to work from home. That's about 1 1/2 a week. And there has to be someone in the office for the early shift and the late shift. I was really hoping to use my days at home for my late shifts because I don't like driving at night, and I really enjoy putting Vallerie to bed, but that isn't going to happen. I mean there could be an occasional day where I work a late shift with someone who is in the office, but it sure isn't going to happen very often. I guess I can't complain, I mean it's not like last year, but at least we have that option now. I should be a lot happier than I am.

Monday, October 8, 2012

Monday October 8th

We had a good (but busy) weekend.

Friday after work we went into Monticello to Walmart. We got some groceries and other things. One of the things was some new light bulbs for the bathroom. They are 100 watt energy savers (daylight)... they are BRIGHT. There's 4 of them above the mirror.

Saturday we were supposed to go to a corn maze/pumpkin patch with Eddie's family. It rained all day Friday, and it was cold, so we decided to skip it. We invited everyone over (14 people!) and we had a really late lunch, and carved pumpkins in the dining room. It was pretty fun. Eddie even invited his brother and his wife. Everyone was so shocked when his brother came in. (They had been fighting, and weren't talking to each other)

After everyone left, we headed over to my uncle's house and had dinner with everyone (including my cousin). Vallerie was entertaining my aunt and cousin by showing off her knowledge of colors and some shapes. The most impressive was when Vallerie knew what a trapezoid was. She still has trouble with square and rectangle, but she definitely knows circle, triangle, oval, trapezoid, and diamond. My aunt got her this super cute little Halloween outfit. We're going to get some pictures of Vallerie in it and send them to people.

Sunday we stayed home and cleaned the house. Then I mowed the yard. After Vallerie was bathed and in bed Eddie and I did our own thing for a while and then we decided to watch a movie. It was called Life Happens. I watched all of it. (it sucked) and Eddie fell asleep like 10 minutes in. Oh well.

Today has been busy. I wish it was time to go home. I want to see my family, and I need to finish up those dang bee hats I promised to make.

Friday, October 5, 2012

Friday October 5th

Yesterday after I got home we went in to town and visited Eddie's mom. She had her gallbladder removed, so we wanted to check in. She seems to be doing ok. Her sister is there helping her.

After that we went to the VFW in Delphi to try and catch dinner, but by the time we got there they were done. We did get some left over food though. Vallerie was playing with the arcade machine. She kept yelling that there were dinosaurs on the screen. Really, it was an Alien Vs Predator game, so I guess the Aliens were what looked like dinosaurs to her. My Grandpa kept wanting to give her quarters so she could actually play, but I kept telling him not to give her any.

Then we went home and ate. Vallerie went to bed and Eddie played some games. I watched a couple episodes of Dr. Who and started crocheting Vallerie's pumpkin hat. I really don;t think I will get 4 done by tomorrow afternoon. Vallerie my be the only one with a pumpkin hat.

Busy day today. Hoping it goes by fast. I want to go home and be with my family.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Thursday October 4th

Yesterday after I got home I got ready and went to my 2nd? cousins viewing. There were a lot of people there. I didn't stay too long and I mostly hid in the back with my cousin.

Then Eddie and I played some Angry Birds and Vallerie ate dinner and went to bed.

Eddie and I watched the movie Friends with Kids. I don't think Eddie liked it, but I thought it was ok. Then we went to bed.

Vallerie took a stuffed animal to bed with her that when you press the feet it plays songs. She was up this morning at 5am pushing the buttons on it. I don't know what time Eddie got her out of bed. I think she will have an early nap today.

It's already turning out to be a crappy day. Bounced a check for the first time and our router/modem is acting up so I have to try and fix it when  get home.

We're going to visit Eddie's mom after work. She had gallbladder surgery yesterday. Then we're going to a funeral reception dinner.

I was hoping to make all the kids pumpkin hats for our adventure on Saturday, but I probably won't get them all done in time. I would have to make 4. Oh well.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Wednesday October 3rd

I haven't posted in a while. My mom visited, so I was busy!

While my mom was here we did a little shopping at Once Upon a Child. We took some of Vallerie's old clothes in and got a little money for them. My mom bought Vallerie some winter items. We also went to Hobby Lobby. I got some yarn. Then we ran around town to all the hardware stores so my mom could find a little lampshade for this candle things she has. She finally found one at Lowes.

It's been a busy week at work. I have been putting in orders and figuring average bag pricing. It's pretty exciting actually.  I like doing that stuff a lot more than calling people.

Saturday is going to be a big day. We're going to a corn maze/pumpkin patch with Eddie's family and all the kids are going to get pumpkins. It's going to be super fun I am excited.

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Wednesday September 26th

Yesterday after work I went home, gave Vallerie some lunch, and then we went into town and picked up the game Eddie bought with his trade ins. After we got home Eddie and I tidied the house and then played it for a little while. Well, actually it was until about midnight, but whatever.

Then I went to bed and Eddie stayed up a little longer.

That's about it...

Monday, September 24, 2012

Monday September 24th

We had a pretty good weekend!

Friday we stayed home and did nothing really. Which was fine. I actually forgot to watch the new Ghost Adventures, so I had to Tivo it.

Saturday we went to town after Vallerie's nap. Eddie traded in some of his games and got a new one, and had enough to get another game that comes out tomorrow. (Angry Birds!) I think Eddie and I both are going to really enjoy it.

Sunday we stayed home. I did the dishes and tidied the house a little.

Saturday and Sunday I made cornbread pancakes. They were freakin awesome. I even added some real sweet corn (from a can). Vallerie liked them, I loved them, and Eddie even thought they were ok, but he would prefer them without the corn.

I finished 2 hats. I got the beard completed for the viking hat for my old boss, and then another co-worker of mine asked if I could make a goat hat for his son's birthday. I did, and it is super cute. Er... awesome (since it's for a boy). I also got the body to my nieces doll done. I have 1 arm, the legs, hair and dress to do on it and then it is complete. It sounds like a lot, but it shouldn't take me too long. I can probably get the legs and arm done today before Vallerie goes to bed (assuming she doesn't play the "gotcha game")

What is the "gotcha game"?? Well, it's this fun little game that Vallerie LOVES to play when I am crocheting. She'll grab my arm and say "gotcha" and then she wont let go. If I actually can shake her off, she does it again and again and again and again, until I get so fed up that I quit crocheting altogether. It's super fun. *sarcasm*

Last night I did something that I should have done ages ago. I backed up all the pictures on my computer. (yay me) I also organized the videos we have, so whenever I copy those they will be in order. I was thinking of turning them into a dvd. I have the software on my home comp to do it. I just don't know if they make huge dvd's to copy it on.

Vallerie has been into being a dinosaur lately (thanks Eddie haha). She rawr's at everything and then claims "I'm a dinosaur". It's actually pretty cute. Sometimes she even fake bites/nibbles your arm. She also likes to be a kangaroo. She will hop in one place for like 10 minutes at a time. It's insane.

We're trying to teach her shapes. She knows what a triangle is all of the time, a circle some of the time, but she has trouble with the square and rectangle. She always calls those triangles. She also knows what an oval and a heart are. She's great with colors. She gets them right 99% of the time.

Eddie called me today and said that Vallerie asked her first real question today (rather than the plain old "why") He said that she was laying on the floor and she said "help help" then she asked "are you coming?" Eddie said "no", and then she asked "why?". I wish I could have been there for that. It sounded like a really cute moment. And, no, she wasn't hurt or anything, she's just a little weird.

I think that's all... Maybe I'll remember more later.

Friday, September 21, 2012

Friday September 21st

Yesterday was on ok day. After I got home Vallerie watched some tv and I crocheted some. I started on a crochet doll for my other niece. I got the head done and started on the body. Then around 6 Eddie made spaghetti. Vallerie had a bath and then went to bed.

After she was in bed Eddie and I watched some tv and went to sleep.

This weekend should be decent. I don't think we have any plans, but that's ok. I need to tidy up the house a bit. The laundry is stacking up again.

Eddie found our old video camera. He uploaded all of our videos onto the computer, so I am excited to see them. They are all real short if I remember correctly.

I was thinking of crocheting a gnome doll for the house. It'll sort of be for Vallerie, but it's kind of for me too. He'll be the house mascot I think. I will need to buy red yarn for the hat. Gnomes MUST have red hats.

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Thursday September 20th

Yesterday was a fun day. I got to enter orders for the company. That's something I have never done before. It's a big responsibility and I am happy they allowed us to do it.

I wore my Viking hat into work (to show people) and my old boss thought it was super cool and asked me to make him one. I guess his kids go to High school and their mascot is a viking.

When I got home I had a doctors appointment (just a shot) so Vallerie and I went to that. Eddie decided to get some peace and quiet and stay at home. When we were there Vallerie was really good in the waiting room. I quizzed her on the colors and she got them all right. Then I went in to get my shot and she was good in there too. (It only took like 2 minutes) I got it in the hip, so I had to lift my shirt a little. After I was done, Vallerie walked over to where I was standing, turned around, and lifted up her shirt just like I did. I guess she wanted a shot too! So, I pinched her little hip and said "all done". She seemed to be happy with that.

Then we went to Sams Club to drop off Eddie's sister's Power wheel battery to her.

After we got home I got started on the viking hat. Vallerie was being totally ornery. She would grab my scissors and laugh when I took them away. One time she took them and just looked at me until I noticed her, then when I did she laughed. She also kept grabbing my arm saying "gotcha", and would not let it go. I had to keep shaking her off me. Even after saying I was not laughing she didn't stop. I really wasn't laughing, I was being totally serious. She didn't care. Then Eddie's mom called and I talked to her for a minute. I had to write something down that she told me, so I started to step over the baby gate, and Vallerie grabbed my leg. So, I had one leg on one side of the gate, and Vallerie holding my other leg on the other side of the gate. After trying to shake her off, She bit me! She straight up bit my jeans, while still holding onto my leg. She also was yelling at the cat all day. She would just scream at him for no reason. "DALMO RAWRRRR' "RAWWWWRRR" and then chase him around the room. Poor cat, no wonder he hisses at her when she's near him. She did say "bless you" when he sneezed though, so that was nice of her.

She's a fun kid, but I think Eddie and I are going to have our hands full. I know she's going to learn a few tricks from Eddie too... he's pretty ornery himself.

After she ate and went to bed I finished the viking hat (not the beard though) and Eddie played some of his videogames. Then we went to bed.

Tonight I will probably crochet the beard for the viking hat, and then I don't know what else. OH! I forgot. The other day... Tuesday maybe, I finished up most of my niece's doll. I got it all put together and the hair is on her. All I have to do now is add the flower details and the mouth. It looks pretty good. I am happy with it. I just hope that my niece likes it. Not sure if I will still make it a Christmas present, or just a surprise present. I think I am going to make some sort of doll/animal for my two nephews too. Maybe bears. I haven't decided.

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Tuesday September 18th

Yesterday was a pretty good day.

After I got home I got Vallerie up from her nap, and she had lunch (peanut butter and cream cheese sandwich YUM) and spinach. This kid LOVES spinach! (I know she's weird) Then we moved around the living room. I did it the other day, but I guess Vallerie thought that it would be fun to climb off the back of the couch, so it needed done again.

Then while Vallerie watched Bubble Guppies and Team Umi Zoomi, I crocheted 3 arms for the dolls I am making for my nieces. Then we hung out for a little while longer. Vallerie was being funny. She's just so fun.

After dinner Eddie and I watched Apollo 13 and had an argument about going to the moon. I think they should go back and drill to the center of that sucker to see what's inside. Eddie says it's just a giant rock and there is nothing there, but how do they know?!

Then we went to bed.

Today I learned something important. How to put orders into our system. It's a pretty big deal actually, so it's kind of neat that they are letting us do it. I actually have to train a couple people on how to do it in a few minutes. Not sure if I'm ready for that, but we'll see.

Monday, September 17, 2012

Monday September 17th

We had an ok weekend.

Saturday I went to the gorcery store and picked up a few things. Vallerie was pretty good. Eddie and I watched 21 Jump Street (the new one). It was pretty good. There were some funny parts to it. I crocheted a bit more of my niece's doll. I only have the arms left to do and then I have to put all the pieces together and add the hair and flower trim. I also started on a hat for my nephew. It's going to be a horse head.

Sunday I cleaned the house a bit and after Vallerie was asleep Eddie and I watched A Very Harold and Kumar Christmas on HBO. It was... ok.

That's about it! Nothing too exciting.

Friday, September 14, 2012

Friday Sept 14th

Yesterday after I got home I mowed the yard. I started around 6pm and finished up around 7pm. After I was done I took a shower, and then I looked outside and saw that it was raining. I was ticked. Oh well. At least it got all mowed before the rain started, I guess I'll just have to mow it again soon.

After Vallerie was in bed, Eddie and I watched Bridesmaids. It was funny. Then we watched a little tv and went to bed.

That's all.

Thursday, September 13, 2012

Thursday September 13th

Yesterday when I got home there wasn't a lot to do. Eddie was tired so he took a nap and Vallerie and I hung out in the living room. After she ate dinner she went and played in our bed for a while and then it was time for her to go to bed.

In her bed she has this pink dog. It's from when she was a baby. It's actually a little play mat that babies are supposed to lay on. Well, it has always been in her bed, and she has to have it to sleep. The pink dog has a rattle in one foot, and a squeaker thing in the other foot. After Vallerie was tucked in bed, Eddie and I were in our room and through the baby monitor we hear "squeak squeak squeak" this goes on for several minutes. So finally I go into her room to see what on earth she is doing. I didn't catch her doing anything, but she did throw out all her pacifiers, so I put those back in her bed. I honestly think she was jumping in her bed to make the squeak sound. She really really likes to jump.

After she was finally asleep Eddie and I watched "What to Expect When You're Expecting" It was a pretty good movie. I think Eddie liked it too. There was a preview for another movie on there called One for the Money. It's based on the Stephanie Plum series of books by Janet Evanovich (Hear that mom???!!!) It's out on DVD, so we may out that on our Netflix queue. Maybe we'll get it the next time my mom visits.

After the movie we went to bed.

I have a headache today, and I am tired. Might mow the yard today, but I have been saying that for 2 weeks.

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Wednesday Sept 12th

Today is Eddie and my anniversary. 13 years!

Yesterday after I got home Vallerie and I watched some tv. I watched the final episode of Hells Kitchen. It was pretty good. We also played with the cat. Vallerie just thinks it's hilarious when the cat bats at his toys. I don't know why. It sure kept me entertained though.

Vallerie and I had lasagna for dinner. She didn't get too messy this time. Then she went potty on her potty chair. She's been really good about it.

After little pumpkin was in bed I finished up my crochet viking hat. Here's a picture:

I think it turned out rather nicely. Eddie thinks it completely stupid. He's not a fan of beard hats. I agree that it is not really a functional hat, but it would be fun for Halloween. My sister's friend is actually planning on being a viking for Halloween so she is going to see if he wants to buy one from me. That would be cool.

After I was finished (the beard took me like 5 hours! Mainly because I didn't know what I was doing) I went to bed.

Not sure what today will bring, but we shall see. 

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Tuesday September 11th

Yesterday was a decent day.

After I got home I started on the viking hat I wanted to make. I got the hat part done. I was afraid I was going to run out of grey yarn. I may have just enough to add a few more details. I was going to start on the beard, but I figured I wouldn't have time to get most of it where I wanted it before I had to go to bed.

I also painted Vallerie's toenails. They are bright pink. She didn't want to sit still, so I had to do it about 4 times, and they don't look great, but they are done. Normally I will paint them in the morning when she is a little calmer.

Vallerie was also a little butthead yesterday. Eddie put her in time out because she spit her milk in one of the indentations in the couch. Well, when I got home, I gave her some juice. She proceeded to spit her juice on the couch and then she pointed at it and said "ha ha"... (yes, it was a little funny to see,  but NOT funny that she did it). So, I put her in time out for it. She sat there and cried for a little while, and then she started entertaining herself (which was funny, but also a little annoying because she's supposed to be being punished!) She would play with her toes and giggle, then point at the ceiling and stuff. Then she tried to pull one over on me. She kept saying "potty". Normally I wouldn't hesitate to take her to potty, but this time I had a hunch she was just trying to get out of time out. After about 10 minutes she was done crying and playing in time out, so I took her to the potty. Guess what... she didn't have to go. (sneaky little thing!)

She's also doing something else when she gets in trouble (which isn't often - mostly it's just she's touching things she isn't supposed to, or hitting the cat, small things). She will know that she is doing something she isn't supposed to, and when we catch her she will say "hug" and then throw her arms wide open. I have a feeling she is going to be trouble once she's older! It should be fun though.

Eddie yakked to his sisters and mom on the phone for like ever yesterday. He's worse than a teenage girl sometimes. Then my mom called and talked to him. Shiesh!

We had lasagna for dinner. Vallerie ate a lot! We were very happy. She sometimes eats like a bird, so it's nice when she fills up. Then we put her to bed and Eddie played some video games, and I watched and fell asleep on the couch.

Tomorrow is Eddie and my anniversary. 13 years. I have loved (almost) every minute.

Monday, September 10, 2012

Monday September 10th

The weekend was good. Friday night we stayed home. It was storming, and I guess the storm killed the baby monitor. I was worried all night about it and didn't sleep well. Luckily Eddie was up early and caught Vallerie when she woke up on Saturday morning.

Saturday we went to Walmart and bought some groceries and a new baby monitor. The night light on it is blue and pretty bright, but it's pretty cool and didn't seem to bother Vallerie any. We had pork chops for dinner. They were super delicious.

Sunday I cleaned the house in the morning. Vallerie really liked helping. She helped with the dustpan while I swept, and she also helped load the washing machine. We had steak stuff for dinner. I made mashed potatoes. This time I added some sour cream when I made them. I didn't taste a difference, but they were still really good.

Vallerie has been pretty good about using the potty. She will even tell us when she has to go. I think potty training is coming along nicely.

My new project is going to me trying to crochet a viking beanie with a full beard. I think I can do it. I have the pattern for the beard, and it's actually really similar to how I added hair to Vallerie's crochet doll. I am going to make it adult sized, then I will try a mini version. I don't think Vallerie will want to wear one, so this one is just going to be for fun. Maybe Eddie will wear it and play with Vallerie. Who knows.

I went to CVS (I had coupons) and bought some nail polish for Vallerie's toes. I only seem to have an assortment of dark purple nail polish, and some green. I bought some really bright pink nail polish,. and then some robins egg blue. Both are really pretty and thick. (one coat!) I actually tested them out on my nails, so I have alternating nail colors.

I have an infected nail. I had a hangnail that I pulled (ouch) and now my finger hurts and there's some gross puss stuff coming out of it. (Not a lot) I hope it heals without me having to do anything. I have a band aid on it now.

I'll end with that... HAHA.

Friday, September 7, 2012

Friday September 7th

Yesterday after I got home I crocheted a can koozie for one of the girls at work. It's a Tardis. I still have some things to finish on it, but the main part is done. Vallerie was being funny. She took off her shirt and pants. I tried to put them back on but she just kept running from me laughing.

Then I made grilled cheese for dinner. Vallerie was in the living room watching Bubble Guppies. I look in on her, and sure enough she has no diaper on, and had peed on the floor. So, Eddie took her into the bathroom and she peed on her potty. She's been doing better about that. Eddie told me that she said "potty" 3 times yesterday and every time he took her to the potty, she went. I think that means she's learning!

After dinner Vallerie went to bed and Eddie and I watched The Hunger Games. I really liked it. I'm not sure if Eddie did or not. He said it was too long.


I am happy it's Friday. I have to mow the yard again this weekend, but that's ok. Both of our neighbors mowed theirs, so ours really looks bad.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Wed, Sept 5th

Yesterday while working I called Eddie to chat. Vallerie was in the background chatting to herself. Eddie and I talked for a bit and when we were done, Eddie asked Vallerie to say "i love you" to me. (She's only said it once before to me. ) Well, she actually said it! I was so thrilled. It just made me so happy. I mean I know she loves me (or at least I hope she does) but it was just so amazing to hear her actually say it. Then I called again when it was time for Vallerie to go to bed. She said "love you"! Ahh it just made my day.

After I got home, Eddie played some of his video game and I watched. Then we ate dinner (nothing special). I watched Hells Kitchen and then we went to bed. So, it was not a grand evening by any means, but it wasn't that bad.

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

Tuesday September 4th

We had a nice long weekend. Yay for Labor Day!

Friday after I got home from work we went into town and got Eddie a free point card for his xbox. Then we went out to eat with my gpa, uncle, aunt, and cousin. We went to Breshnahan's in Pittsburgh IN. It was ok. Vallerie called my uncle a pirate because he had on a bandanna. Everyone thought it was funny.

Saturday we hung out at home most of the day. After Vallerie was in bed I went to Indiana Beach with my gpa, aunt and cousin. We walked around for a little while. watched the fireworks, and had delicious tacos. My aunt bought me a really cool pair of sleepy pants. I got Vallerie a little spy glass. (Because she loves pirates)

Sunday we stayed home too, and then that evening we ate dinner at my uncles house. It was pretty good. Vallerie ate mostly fruit and chips. After dinner we had ice cream cake. My aunt thought it was funny to see Vallerie splash her ice cream all over. She was a sticky mess by the time we were ready to go. So, we had to give her a bath, but that's ok.

Monday we didn't really do anything either. My cousin stopped by before she had to go to the airport. Vallerie was putting on a show for her. She would take her cardboard blocks and line them up and then stand on them and "sing". She's so WEIRD, but funny!

Then Monday night Eddie and I watched Machine Gun Preacher. It was boring and long. It's like it would never end. Eddie said he was going to rearrange our Netflix queue, so the movies I wanted to see are way down at the bottom. Haha.

I made a couple more hats over the weekend. An Owl hat and a Hello Kitty hat. Vallerie wanted nothing to do with them. I think they are cute though. Maybe she'll like them better once it's cold out. She didn't have a problem with hats last year.

I'm working late tonight, so it'll be a long time before I see Vallerie again (26 hours). I'll probably sneak in her room tonight when I get home just to say "hi".

Friday, August 31, 2012

FRIDAY August 31st

Yay for Friday! Double YAY for a 3 day weekend!

Yesterday after I got home Eddie and I rearranged Vallerie's room. She has learned how to pull herself up on her changing table from her crib, meaning she is escaping from her crib. So we moved it around and hopefully that won't happen again. It's probably about time to switch her into a big girl bed.

After that we were all in the kitchen. Vallerie was coloring with dry erase markers. She decided that it would be fun to draw on Eddie. She drew on his arm in several spots, on his leg in several spots and on his hand. She would just do little circle things. She would point to them and say "what's that?" Eddie and I both said that we didn't know and she would have to tell us since she's the one that drew it. She's so funny.

Then it was time for us to go grocery shopping. We told her to go get her shoes so we could put them on. She ran into her room and got her dinosaur slippers, so we told her to go back and get her purple shoes. She ran back in and got her alligator slippers. This went on for a few minutes. She brought us a few more shoes (not the right ones) until finally she brought us the right ones. After I put on her shoes I gave her all the other shoes and told her to put them back. She did. It was pretty entertaining.

Vallerie and I went grocery shopping. She was a pretty good shopper. We stayed in Delphi though, so it was a short trip. She got a little loud (no inside voice) so I told her if she whispered that I would give her a cookie. She started whispering then. It was cute. (yes I gave her a cookie when we got home)

On our way there I said "Vallerie, your dad told me that you were an escape artist today" She said "yup". Just like it was a matter of fact.

After I got home I unloaded the groceries. Vallerie was happy to help by carrying in the bread. (Yes she squished it, but that's ok)

Then Vallerie and I went outside. I was talking to my mom on the phone and Vallerie went and started playing on her swing set. We were out there for about an hour. Eddie joined us for a little while.

Then we ate dinner. Eddie and Vallerie had corn beef hash and eggs. I had spaghetti o's. (sounds like a great dinner doesn't it) Then Vallerie went to bed.

Eddie and I watched some tv and then fell asleep.

I had a dream last night (Martin Luther King had a dream -- as my mom would always say) It was an Inception dream... Anyway, in my dream I dreamt that I won 20,000 in the lottery, so when I woke up (in my dream) I bought a scratch off ticket and won 20,000. Today when I went to the gas station for my morning soda, I bought me a power ball ticket... Maybe I'll win something! (Probably not)

My cousin comes into town today. She should be here in about an hour. We're hoping we can go to Indiana Beach sometime this weekend, but it's supposed to rain, so we'll have to wait and see. I hope it's at least nice enough that we get to do something, even if it's not the beach, we could go to the canal park or something.

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Thursday August 30th

Yesterday after I got home, Vallerie was a bear. She was just so bossy. Everything had to be her way or she would totally freak out and throw a giant tantrum. I tried my very best to keep her as calm as possible. It didn't work so well at times.

I made her a pumpkin hat. I used my knitting loom for it. The picture I took looks way better than the actual hat, so I think I am going to try again. This time, not on the loom.

After Vallerie was in bed Eddie and I watched some tv. Eddie picked a movie from Netflix. It was about these people in a plane crash who get chased through the middle of nowhere. You don't find out until the end what they were being chased by. It was... dinosaurs. Oh my god. It was terrible!

After that we went to bed. Vallerie was cold last night so we opened up her door to let some of the cool air out. Well, Eddie went to the restroom and woke her up around 2am. She didn't want to go back to sleep so Eddie brought her into our room to try and get her to sleep with us. She really didn't want to do that. I was actually trying to go back to sleep, and she would push me and say "wake up wake up". She was in the bed for about 30 minutes, and then we decided it was time for her to go back to her own bed. She went back to sleep pretty quickly.

Tonight I will probably go to the grocery store, and then maybe work on another hat for Vallerie. I might try making one with ear flaps. We'll see.

Here are some pictures of what I made:
Pumpkin Hat

Flower Scarf and Hat

Vallerie modeling the hat and scarf (before it was complete)

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Wednesday August 29th

Yesterday was a short day for me since I worked late. After I got home, I had a little dinner and then Eddie and I watched the movie Jeff, Who Lives at Home. It was horrible. It was one of those movies that just drug on with no real action. It was a really stupid plot too. I don't think Eddie is going to let me pick movies anymore.

After that it was bed time.

I realized today, that after I get home I will not have seen Vallerie for over 24 hours. That really makes me sad. But, at least I can see her when I get home. Hopefully she is in a good enough mood that I can crochet some more hats for her. I think my next one will be a pumpkin hat. I'm still trying to figure out how to crochet ear flaps.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Tuesday August 28th

I can't believe August is almost over!

Yesterday was a pretty good day. When I got home Vallerie was just waking up from her nap. I went in to get her up, and since I had just come in, my eyes weren't adjusted to the darkness. I went to pick her up and felt that she didn't have a top on. Then I thought, "Oh my".. and turned on the light. Yes, she was naked, and had peed in her bed. "sigh"... So, it's back to onesies! Although, she'll probably figure out how to take those off too.

After she was up and eating lunch, I washed her bed stuff and got out my yarn. I decided to make her a beanie to match her scarf. I actually got it finished before she went to bed! It's pink on top with blue on the bottom, and it has a flower on the side (that matches her scarf). All I had to do then was make the leaves to put on the scarf, and then her set was complete. I got that done after she went to bed.

Then, Eddie and I watched Interview with the Vampire. It was... ok. I can't say it was horrible because it did follow the book, but it left out quite a bit, but that's to be expected. I kept asking Eddie questions about if certain parts were in the movie, and he would say no. I think I annoyed him a little.

Then it was bed time.

Working late today so I have to be here until 9pm. That means I won't get to see Vallerie until tomorrow unless I sneak in her room when I get home. :(

This morning before work I cleaned the kitchen and made banana muffins (from a box). I thought they were pretty good. Vallerie only ate about 1/2 of hers.

That's all for now. If there's anything else to report I will update later.

Monday, August 27, 2012

Monday August 27th

We had a nice weekend.

Friday and Saturday we didn't do much. I mowed the yard on Saturday and went to the grocery store. We had taco's for dinner. They were great! Saturday night I crocheted some while Eddie played a video game. I am making Vallerie a little flower scarf. I only have a few more leaves to make, and then I have to attach them, but it's looking really good. I am going to try and make her a little beanie and a headband to match the scarf. Not sure if I can make a beanie, but I think I will at least try.

I finished Interview with the Vampire yesterday. I have the movie at home, so I am planning on watching it soon. I'm sure it will suck compared to the book.

Yesterday was interesting. A "funny" story...

Eddie was in the shower, and I was finishing up the last few pages of my book in the living room with Vallerie. In the corner of my eye I see Vallerie standing on the couch. No big deal, she does it all the time. Then I hear the sound of liquid being poured on the couch. I turn my head, and all I see is Vallerie, naked from the waist down, running across the couch. Yes. She peed on the couch (standing up mind you) and then ran away. I was like "Vallerie, what the hell??!" So, I picked her up and put on a new diaper and pants and then cleaned off the couch. I am SO glad we didn't buy a cloth couch. It makes cleaning up mysterious (and sometimes not so mysterious) liquids off the couch so much easier. I told Eddie about it, and he thought it was funny.

Around 5:30 we decided to take a walk. We walked along the canal and went over to my Aunts house. She is building a garage , so we checked that out. She's also got some kittens running around, so Eddie caught one and Vallerie petted it. (The poor kitten was terrified). It was so cute. I wanted to take it home, but Eddie said no. Boo Hoo.

Then we decided we would walk to my grandpas. Luckily the way we went was next to my uncle's house. We saw that my grandpas car was in his driveway, so we stopped by there instead. When we go there, my aunt was there too and they were all getting ready to eat dinner. We weren't planning on staying (and crashing their dinner) but before we could refuse they were putting the leaf in the table and getting out more plates for us. It was a good dinner, but I hated intruding like that.

After that we walked the trail home. Vallerie had a good time picking up sticks along the way.

Then it was bed time for Vallerie. Eddie and I watched the movie Something Borrowed. Eddie thought it was horrible, but I didn't think it was that bad. We have a netflix movie we need to watch too. Maybe tonight?

Friday, August 24, 2012

Friday August 24th

Yesterday was pretty tame. Before Vallerie went to bed I crocheted a few flowers. I am going to make her a scarf of flowers. She was very interested in my scissors and yarn. I gave her some scrap yarn and she used it as a lasso. She was trying to twirl it around and yelling out "Yee Haw". She's so cute. (I got a video this morning of her "singing" about a Cowboy) Might put it on Facebook.

Then after she ate and went to bed Eddie and I watched some tv. Nothing special.

Tonight I will probably make more flowers and try and watch Hells Kitchen. I still haven't done any more work on Vallerie's quilt. I really need to get that done.

I'll probably mow the yard this weekend. We've finally go enough rain that it needs mowed. I think the last time I mowed it (and that was just the front) was 3-4 months ago. So, I am kind of excited. I like to mow, and we finally got our mower fixed so I was hoping to have been mowing all summer long.

My Aunt said that I should open a booth next year at Old Settlers and try to sell some of my things. I was thinking I might, so I am going to try and make a stash of things before next year (along with sending things to my mom for the retail shops) Not really sure what to make for the booth other than flower clips, but I'm sure I will come up with some other crafts before next August.

That's about all I know for now. Been pretty slow at work, but I think we have a project to do soon, so that should be a good change. I don't like just sitting around, I would rather be busy.

Thursday, August 23, 2012

Thursday August 23rd

Not much going on the last couple days.

Eddie and I watched "The Vow" lastnight. It was an ok movie I thought. Not sure what Eddie thought about it.

Crocheted a few flowers (for a scarf) and glued several ornaments together. Eddie played some video games.

That's about all...

My cousin is coming to town next weekend for Labor Day. We're going to go to Indiana Beach. It should be fun. I have decided not to take Vallerie. As much as I think she would enjoy it, I don't think she would last long. So, I'm kinda being selfish because I would like to ride rides with my family and have a fun day without worrying about Vallerie. I know it's a horrible thing. Not sure if Eddie will be joining us or staying home. Guess we'll wait and see.

Monday, August 20, 2012

Monday August 20th

This weekend was pretty good. Saturday we stayed home and did nothing all day.

Sunday we went to my uncle Dans and had my grandpa's birthday dinner. It was fun. My aunt backed into my grandpas car so he has a big white streak down the side.

Today we went into town and got some groceries. We had delicious steak for dinner. It rained during the afternoon, but stopped raining just long enough for Eddie to fire up the grill and grill our steaks. It's raining again now.

That's about it...

Friday, August 17, 2012

Friday August 17th

Yesterday after I got home Vallerie did a little painting. Today is my grandpa's 93rd birthday, so I wanted her to paint him a birthday card. She did pretty good. I used an ice cube tray to separate her colors (worked perfectly). She didn't finger paint, she used brushes. She actually said "icky" when she started getting her hands messy. She ended up making 3 cards. She was pretty messy once she was done, but she cleaned up pretty quick. We hung her creations, with blue painters tape, on the wall to dry.

After that it was dinner time, so Vallerie had dinner and then she went to bed.

I did some laundry and then decided it was time to do a few things. I re arranged the dining room and finally re did the pictures in the large standing picture frame thing we have. I took out about 1/2 of the pictures that were in there and added in some of Eddie's baby/kid pictures.

Then, I folded Vallerie's laundry and headed upstairs to try something out. I took one of her (ugly) onesies and chopped the bottom off. It would have been too short for a shirt that way, so I added a piece of fleece to the bottom. Then I made a couple bows from the fleece and sewed them on the top of each arm. I cut the bottom felt so it was frayed a bit. I was hoping that if I washed/dried it that it would crinkle up, but it hasn't so far. Not sure I am in love with the shirt, but it's better than the onesie it used to be.

I have been looking online for how to upcycle shirts into toddler clothes. They have some good tutorials on how to do it, but I am not that good at sewing (and I hate pinning/measuring/etc) so, that might be a down the road project (when I have more patience). But, that's what gave me the idea to turn the onesie into a shirt. Maybe I'll see if Once Upon a Child has any 3T onesies (not sure if they even make those) for cheap to turn into shirts. OR I could just send the adult shirts I have to my mom and she can make Vallerie some clothes!

After I was done with that, I went to bed. I'm glad it's Friday. I plan on cleaning up the house this weekend and finishing a few craft projects (Vallerie's quilt!) Not sure if we're doing anything for my Grandpa's birthday or not. At the very least we'll stop by and give him his card.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Thursday August 16th

Yesterday after I got home we watched The Lorax. It was pretty good. Very colorful.

Vallerie used the potty 3 times. She seemed happy.

We had spaghetti for dinner. it was good.

After Vallerie was in bed we watched some shark week and I fell asleep on the couch. When I woke up Eddie was already in bed. The cat threw up on the end of our bed sometime last night. I cleaned it up, but I will have to wash the sheets tonight.

That's about all. Nothing exciting going on.

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Tuesday August 14th

Yesterday was ok. Didnt do much.

Vallerie was watching Bubble Guppies and they had a pattern that you had to guess the next color. Vallerie got it right on both patterns they gave. I was impressed. She's a smart cookie.

After Vallerie was in bed I watched some tv and worked on ornaments, then I went to bed... that's all.

Sorry so short.

Monday, August 13, 2012

Monday August 13th

A weekend of FUN!

Friday I went to Walmart before I came home from work and got 5 12 packs of Big Red soda. Eddie is trying to get a Big Red beanie with points that come from the bottles and boxes, and he needs about 50 more points. That's 5 more cases or 17 bottles. The promotion ends at the end of the month, so we need to find them before then!

Eddie's sister, brother in law and their baby came over and we all headed up to Old Settlers. Vallerie had a great time. She rode some rides and played some games. I got an elephant ear, it was delicious, but too big. I couldn't eat it all!

Saturday we had baked steak with my gpa and aunt at the VFW. Eddie loves it and waits for it all year. Then we all headed up to Old Settlers. Vallerie rode a bunch of rides. Eddie and I had to ride with her on some of them. She also played some games and won some prizes. My gpa went home early because he wasn't feeling well. My aunt bought Vallerie this cute little romper from one of the people selling things there. It's adorable. We played the quarter game (you put a quarter in the machine and it pushes more quarters towards the front.) I spent $12, but Vallerie played too, and she won a roll of quarters! We put it in her piggy bank. I wanted to spent it on the quarter game, but Eddie said that since Vallerie won it, it should go to her. I reluctantly agreed. We got 1 prize token and my aunts friend gave us one, so we got Vallerie a plastic dinosaur. Eddie played darts and won Vallerie a shark stuffed animal (in honor of Shark Week). Vallerie picked the color. (green)

Rides ridden: Trains, boats, tilt a whirl, tea cups, carousel, and roller coaster. She also went into the "fun house", but she didn't get far because there was a vibrating floor that really scared her.

Games played: DUCKS! She won a baton, a small stuffed bear, and a squishy ball
Quarter game. Won a roll of quarters ($10), a big plastic dinosaur, a small Barney doll
Darts. Eddie won her a green shark
Fishing. She got a small penguin stuffed animal. (She has a big one at home, so this is the "baby")

I was going to play the fishing game and win a blow up crayon and send it to my sister. When we were kids, we always got those. But, I decided not to.

That night Eddie and I watched Mirror Mirror. I didn't think it was that bad, but Eddie thought it was stupid.

Sunday we stayed home and didn't do much. I went to Alco and bought a new purse and the Lorax for Vallerie. It looked so colorful and I thought she would like it. She watched part of it before dinner and then we ate and she went to bed. After that I went upstairs and made a folding album for my sisters friend and then Eddie and I watched a little of Shark Week and I went to bed.

Thursday, August 9, 2012

Thursday August 9th

Had a pretty good weekend. Saturday my Grandpa and Aunt took us to Cutler Indiana (very small town). We had dinner at the firehouse and then listened to some music at an outdoor restaurant thing. They were going to have the people sing Happy Birthday to me and then play the song my gpa wrote, but it started storming and they lost power, so we left and went home.

Sunday was my birthday. The big 3-0. Eddie and I went into town and borrowed his sisters Power Wheel battery and then we went grocery shopping. Eddie made me a delicious dinner. My mom got me a very pretty watch, which I absolutely LOVE.

My grandpa gave me some cash, and my aunt got me a gift card to Victoria's Secret. I ordered some things online. I got a couple bra's (nothing fancy) a sweater, some lotion, body spray, and some pj's. The box came yesterday. Everything fits. I was a little concerned that the sweater made me look like an old lady, but it's super comfy, so I am going to keep it.

I was home sick for the last few days. Not sure what was wrong, I just had an upset stomach. Still feeling a little ill today, but good enough to work.

Vallerie rode around in the yard on the power wheel. She hasn't mastered steering yet, so Eddie and I have to chase after her so she doesn't run into things. Vallerie also used the potty a few times in the last week. She gets so excited when the royal sounds play. She's so cute.

She's learning new words at record speed. She repeats a lot of words too. I think she's pretty smart. She's really into jumping too.

That's about all I can remember...

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Thursday August 2nd

Yesterday after work we had hamburgers for dinner. Vallerie played outside for a little bit.

My mom mailed me some flower trim for the crochet dolls I am going to make. It's great! I couldn't find anything like it. She also sent my birthday present, but I can't open it yet. Booooo.

Last night I made some tags for my sister. She needed some hangover kit tags for the bachlorette party she's throwing for one of her friends. I also picked out some paper to make more ornaments this year. I am cutting them at work because my paper cutter isn't working well. It's leaving rough edges where it cuts. "Why don't you buy new blades Lauren"... I did. It still doesn't work right. I obviously messed it up somehow.

After that I went to bed.

Today has been a roller coaster of a day. Work is stressful because we have 4 projects going on and no one seems to know what the hell we're supposed to be doing. Eddie called and said that the washer guy came over and fixed us up. The problem... was a baby sock in the pump. So, now we're going to buy a mesh bag to hold all of her little socks in while they are washing. If we would have not been under warranty it would have cost about $200 for them to come over, if the motor needed replaced, that would have been another $80. That's almost as much as a new washer!! So I am super happy we were covered.

Eddie called me a few minutes ago. He said that Vallerie used her potty chair for the first time! They were sitting in the bathroom and she just went! I'm really sad that I missed it, but there will be other opportunities I suppose, just not her first time.

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Wednesday August 1st

Yesterday when I got home we played outside for a little while. Eddie's sister gave us her step daughters old power wheels jeep, so I tried to clean it up a little. It needs a new battery, so Vallerie can't ride around in it yet. The battery costs $70, so it might be a while before she will be zooming around the yard.

After that we went inside and Vallerie sat on her potty chair for 30 minutes. She didn't go, but she wasn't crying or fussing either. She was having a good time playing with toys and stuff. Eddie took a 20 minute video in hopes of recording her first potty. Maybe it will happen today.

After Vallerie was in bed I watched some tv and crocheted some can cozies, then went to bed. Kind of an uneventful evening, but that's ok.

Tired today. I didn't want to get up.

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Tuesday July 31st

Yesterday Eddie did a little babysitting for his sister. He watched her 7yr old and her 6 week old for several hours. He was tired because he didn't sleep the night before. But, when I got home he seemed ok.

I went to the grocery store and got some wings. Eddie cooked em' up and that's what we had for dinner.

I was going to go into town, but I decided not to. I'm going to wait until I get more spare money to buy the other quilt squares. I have other projects to work on in the meantime.

Vallerie sat on the potty chair for like 20 minutes yesterday. We were playing with toys, and she kept wanting water. So, I'd give her water. After a long while I heard the "royal sounds" from the potty chair, but I'm not sure she actually went. I think it was the water she was playing with. I gave her a treat anyway just in case, plus she sat there for so long without fussing.

After she was in bed, I watched Hells Kitchen and crocheted a little. I'm working on the can coozies that I'm making for my coworker. I got the 2 corn ones done. Now I am working on the zombies. I'll probably have some of those left over though because she didn't specify a color, so I'm going to do several and let her pick. I'm sure I can pedal them around somewhere.

Went to bed around midnight. Kinda tired today. Still bummed I'm turning 30.

The washing machine repair guy said he would be over on Thursday morning. It's starting to small because of the water that's in there. Hopefully it doesn't get too bad before he comes.

Monday, July 30, 2012

Monday July 30th

This weekend was... eventful.

Friday after I got home we went to town and got Vallerie a potty chair. We dropped her off at Eddie's sisters house so we could shop without being rushed. We got her a princess potty chair that makes "royal sounds" when she goes. I also got some supplies for her quilt. I got two packs of pre-cut squares (I'm going to need one more) some quilt batting, and some fleece for the back.

After we were done we picked Vallerie up and had burgers with Eddie's sister and husband. Then we went home.

Saturday Vallerie and I went to town and headed over to Hobby Lobby, Walmart, and Gamestop. I got some yarn at Hobby Lobby, one of which I need to return and exchange for a different color. I looked for flower trim, but couldn't find anything. Then we went to Gamestop. Eddie had a couple games he wanted to trade in, so I did that and got him a game he wanted. It only cost $2 after the trade ins. When we went in, I told the gal that I wanted to do this quick because I knew that Vallerie wouldn't cooperate very long. So, she did everything really quick. When we were getting ready to leave I asked Vallerie to give me her hand so we could walk out. She said "no" and then proceeded to run around the store while I chased her. She was having a good ol' time just laughing and running from me. Finally I pulled out my secret weapon. Goldfish. She stopped running from me then, and so I took her hand. We got a few feet and then she decided it would be fun to lay on the ground. So, I had to pick her up and carry her out. The Gamestop employees all thought this was hillarious. I however, thought it was a little embarassing.

Then we went to Walmart and got a few groceries. Vallerie was not really fussy, she was just in a mood where she wanted to do her own thing, so shopping was kind of rough. She didn't use her inside voice. A funny story; lately before bed time Eddie and I will take Vallerie and pretend to sneak up on each other and scare whichever one isn't holding her. Well, we were in the candy isle at Walmart, and there was a guy stocking the shelves. She was in the cart, and started sticking her hand out real slow, like she was going to pinch the guy and scare him. It was so cute. She was just looking at me like she was so sneaky. So I kept putting her hand down telling her not to scare him. As we were walking out of the isle she started doing it to people standing in the isle. It was very funny.

After that we went home and it was baby dinner time and then bed time. After she was in bed I went upstairs and started on her quilt. I got half of what I bought, cut out and sewn. It only took about 3 hours. Then I came downstairs and crocheted a little snail. I tried to be sneaky and take a random picture of the cat with the snail in the background hoping my sister would notice it and freak out. Well, she saw it, but I told her it was the cat's snail. I might mail it to her. I also thought it would be funny if I made a huge snail and sent it to her for her birthday.

Sunday I cleaned the house a bit. I did a couple loads of laundry. On the 3rd load, the washer broke. So I freaked out. Luckily it is still under warranty (Yay for the 2yr extended warranty we bought, as I recall my mom thought it wasn't a good idea to get it, but we did anyway) So I called the geek squad, and they are going to have someone come check it out on Wednesday.

We put Vallerie in time out for the first time yesterday. She was being a royal fussy pants, so Eddie picked her up and put her on the couch and told her to stay until she calmed down. She actually did it, and it didn't take her long to calm down. I am hoping that this technique works! So far, it seems to be.

After Vallerie was in bed I went upstairs and cut out the rest of the quilt batting/fleece. Now all I have to do is get another pack of squares and then sew them up and put the quilt together. I tried laying out what I had done into a pattern, but I couldn't figure out what I wanted it to look like. I will have to wait until I have the rest of the squares done and then lay it out. Eddie was no help. (sigh)

After that Eddie and I watched Contraband. We've had that Netflix movie for 3 weeks. I figured it was time for us to watch it and send it back. Of course I forgot to take it into work to mail it. It was a pretty decent movie. I think Eddie liked it too.

A couple potty training stories:
We were teaching her where her "potty" goes, and as we were showing her, she was standing up, and we asked her if she needed to go. She said no. Not 2 seconds later she is peeing on the floor (still standing)

Eddie put her on the potty chair and she actually sat there for about 10 minutes. She didn't go, but at least she wasn't afraid of it. Eddie gave her a treat for sitting on it for so long.

As I was taking clothes out of the washer to set outside, Vallerie comes out of the bathroom with her potty chair seat. She put it on the ground and started scooting across the floor while sitting on it. She's a weird kid.

Friday, July 27, 2012

Friday July 27th

Yesterday after I got home we were thinking of going into town, but decided against it. I did go to the grocery store though and got some dinner. We had spaghetti. It was good.

I couldn't remove all the viruses on Eddie's computer, so I don't know what to do now. I asked the IT guy at work that helped me put the virus software on the comp yesterday. He hasn't gotten back to me yet.

Vallerie played in her sandbox for a while after dinner. She was covered in spaghetti sauce and sand. We noticed that there were some spiders in her sandbox and some spider webs. Eddie cleaned those out, and after Vallerie was in bed I sprayed around it with bug killer.

I've been doing some laundry with the Tide soap I bought. For some reason my clothes don't smell nearly as good as they did when my mom washed them. Maybe I'll send all of our dirty clothes to her so she can wash them and make them smell good.

I finished Vallerie's doll last night. Here it is:
I am really happy with how it turned out. I do have a couple beefs with it, but those are just me being too critical. I don't like the mouth. I am terrible at embroidery. And the skirt bothers me. The underside of the ruffles should be the top side (if that makes sense). But, I still think it's good. Before the flower belt was on, it looked a little weird. I think the flowers add a really nice touch, although if I had really tiny buttons, I would have added those onto the small flowers. Eddie thought it was good too, but that it needed something around the neck, like maybe a beaded necklace. He said that she was fat, ha ha. I haven't given it to Vallerie yet. I will do that this afternoon. I brought it in to work to show it off. Everyone I showed it to thought it was awesome. Too bad none of them have daughters or granddaughters. They only have sons and grandsons.

We are pretty certain that Vallerie is ready for potty training. Eddie told me yesterday that she said "poop" a couple times to him, and he would check her diaper and there was nothing there. He put her on the toilet, but she freaked out. So, this weekend we're going to buy her a potty chair. Our little girl is growing up so fast. We're kind of scared to do it because we have no clue what to do, but I reminded Eddie (and myself) that dumber people than us have potty trained their kids, so we'll be fine.

Might buy the stuff for Vallerie's quilt this weekend too. I am pretty excited to make it.

Left my smokes at home today, so I have to go buy more sometime this morning. I wish I would have realized that when I was at the gas station getting my morning drink. Oh well. It's not too far away. It'll be a nice walk.

I am glad it's Friday. I am just ready to relax and be at home with my family.

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Thurdsay July 26th

Yesterday I got some info on a couple good free anti virus downloads and a maliware download. I put both on my computer so I am all protected. Eddie's computer however is another story. Since we can't connect to the internet without getting the virus pop up, I thought I would be cool and make a recovery CD from the antivirus website. It was supposed to boot up when you turned on your computer, but it didn't work. I am not tech savvy enough to figure out how to work it. You're supposed to change the BIOS... I don't even know what that is. So, I brought Eddie's comp into work. I think/hope one of the IT guys will fix it for me. If not, I will take it to the repair place.

After we messed around with his computer all afternoon, it was time to eat dinner and put Vallerie to bed.

We tidied up our bedroom, and I took some stuff upstairs. While I was up there I remembered that I found the magnet strips I had "lost". I decided it would be a great time to put those on the back of Vallerie's wooden animals and flowers. (She got them with her wooden letters for Christmas) So, I added the magnets to the back of them and took them down to the fridge. I think she will have fun playing with them.

Also, I somehow ran across a tutorial on how to paint your refrigerator with chalkboard paint... this we MUST do! It looks pretty easy. Messy, but easy. I think the most important thing you need to remember is to use magnetic primer on it first. Maybe this will be a project me and my mom can do when she visits next time.

We watched a little tv and then I went to bed and Eddie went into the living room and vegged out. Not sure if he played video games or just watched tv.

I was going to go and get some stuff to make Vallerie a rag quilt. I saw a tutorial online and it looks super easy. I decided to wait until this weekend after I get paid to spend the money.

I didn't want to get out of bed today, but that's been pretty normal for me lately.