We had a fun filled weekend!
Friday we went out to try and find Vallerie a Halloween costume. We didn't find anything we liked. Most of it looked like little hooker outfits. Sorry, but I don't want my 3yr old looking like that. What ever happened to the innocent costumes??
Saturday Eddie's mom, sisters and their families came over and we all went to the pumpkin patch to get pumpkins. We went through the corn maze too. I think everyone had a good time. We got 3 regular pumpkins, and a really big one.
After all the pumpkins were picked, everyone came back to our house and we had lunch. (Burgers and hot dogs) Then we went outside and carved our pumpkins. Eddie and I each did one and Vallerie colored/poked at one. Eddie's 2 brothers in law carved and one of his sisters did too. It was a fun time. The kids had a good time "helping" carve and get the guts out of the pumpkins. After all that was done my cousin stopped by.
My aunt had surgery on her face for skin cancer, so my cousin was in town to be with her for a while. (She's home now) We have these terrible walnut trees in our yard, and it was windy. The walnuts were falling off the trees! It was pretty scary. I'm surprised no one got hit with one.
While we were outside Vallerie and one of her cousins wanted to play house. Vallerie wanted to be the dad. I asked her what dad did and she said "cooks". I asked her what she was cooking and she said "Krabby Patties". I cringed inside. She doesn't even watch Sponge Bob (unless it's a very rare occasion). Then I asked her what mommy does. She said "sits on the couch"... great. So apparently, Eddie cooks and I sit on the couch. Oh well. It would have been nice if she would have said that I do the laundry or the dishes or something!
We never did make it over to the Bicentennial train. There just wasn't enough time.
Sunday we hung around the house and tidied up a bit. I went to the store and got some little candles for the carved pumpkins.
Yesterday Eddie and Vallerie were outside when I got home. Eddie was raking the leaves. Vallerie and I decided to let him take care of that and we went to "have a walk" as Vallerie calls it. We walked around the neighborhood. Vallerie picked up sticks and leaves and flowers.
When we got home I made some hot cocoa and we sat and drank that. It took her like 30 minutes to finally finish it. Last time we made it we didn't have marshmallows, and this time we did. Vallerie liked it with them in there.
She calls them "Smarshmellows" . It's adorable.
Vallerie needs pants badly. She's small enough in the waist for 2T's but they are way too short. I have to get her some soon. We've checked Once Upon a Child, but they didn't have anything. You really need to buy your winter clothes in the summer, or you won't find anything there. I think she's ok on long sleeved shirts. She might need a hoodie or two.
Hoping to find a costume for her soon. I looked online yesterday for about 6 hours (not kidding) and brought home the list of the ones I thought were decent. Eddie didn't really see anything that stood out, so I think we'll go to Target or look for another Halloween store tonight. If we can't find anything in the store we need to order something online as soon as possible so we know it'll get here in time.
This Saturday is Halloween in Monti, so we might go with her twice. I love Halloween!
No comments:
Post a Comment