Thursday, April 26, 2012

April 26th

Yesterday I got off of work late, so it wasn't very eventful. Eddie and I had taco's. YUM! Then we went to bed and watched The Big Year. It was terrible. It was supposed to be a funny movie, but it was really stupid. I fell asleep towards the end, but I'm really surprised I stayed awake as long as I did.

Our Tivo isn't connecting through our phone line to get the info it needs. It keeps saying the phone is in use even when it's not. I don't know what to do. I will probably have to get a hold of Tivo sometime to see if they can help me.  I just LOVE calling people for tech support.

Eddie has his dentist appointment tomorrow. I called today and had it moved to tomorrow rather than Wednesday. He's pretty scared, but I think everything will work out ok. We're dropping Vallerie off at his sisters and then heading over to the appt.

Vallerie has a cold. I think she got it from her cousin Gabe. She had a runny nose today and got snot everywhere.

I found out that I have been crocheting wrong. Then when I thought I had it right, it was still wrong. Now I know I am doing it right. I am probably going to remake a few things I tried out at first. I did make a mini cactus, and a bigger cactus for Eddie. The bigger one was based off of a cactus cartoon that I draw. It's pretty neat. I am starting on a giraffe. If it turns out it will be for Eddie's sister DaNina and her baby. If it looks like crap, then I will let Vallerie have it to play with. She doesn't mind playing with ugly toys her mom makes. Not yet anyway.

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

April 25th

After work yesterday we went on a walk to the park. Vallerie played on the swings and the merry go round. She went down a couple slides too. It was pretty fun, then we walked home.

I went to the library and picked up a few more movies.

After Vallerie was in bed, Eddie and I watched the end of Hugo. Eddie hated it, but I thought it was ok. Then we watched Twilight Eclipse. It was pretty good. Then we went to bed.

I made a few more amigurumis. A bird, a cup of hot chocolate, and an octopus. I haven't taken pictures of those yet, but I will. Unless Valerie has lost them by now, but I don't think she has.

A funny story (kind of) Yesterday night before Vallerie went to bed, I was reading her some nursery rhymes, and I came to the rock a bye baby one. As soon as I got to "when the wind blows the cradle will rock" she fell off the couch. Yes, she started to cry, but Eddie and I thought it was humerus that I was reading the rhyme about the cradle falling when she fell. No need to worry, she was fine after a minute of crying.

That's all for now...

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

April 24th

Yesterday after I got off of work, we went into town. We stopped by Eddie's moms house to get some of Eddie's baby pictures for our standing picture frame. Then we went to Walmart to get dinner, and to find a DVD for Eddie (which they didn't have) After that we went to Eddie's sisters house for a little bit. Vallerie played with her cousin Gabe. They got into a little baby fight. Gabe was trying to gouge out Vallerie's eyes, and then pulled her hair pretty hard. Vallerie took it pretty well, but I really didn't like seeing her hurt like that.

After we left there, we came home and while Vallerie was eating, Eddie made our dinner. We had tacos. Yum!

After dinner I came upstairs and started throwing away some stuff in our storage/mom's room. I think I got through it all. Most of it is Christmas stuff (which I fit into the closet) and Eddie's art stuff (which is still in a box on the floor). I have a few more boxes to go through in my craft room, but for the most part it's pretty well cleaned out. It still looks like there's a lot of stuff in there, but I think that's because there are empty boxes left over (that we will burn)

When I was done with that (Eddie helped a little) we watched the movie Hugo. I thought it was alright, but Eddie didn't like it and fell asleep. I fell asleep too, but way after he did. I think I will try and finish it tonight.

I haven't started on Eddie's sisters thank you cards. Apparently Eddie's sisters mother in law is insisting that I have them done in time for the baby shower so DaNina can mail them out the day after. When Eddie told me that she said that, I was like. "uh... no?" DaNina thinks it's stupid too. I realize that they should be sent out fairly quickly afterwards, but the next day is a little extreme. Not to mention, I'm not a damn card factory that can poof out 30 cards in 30 minutes. They take time. I've never met the woman, but from what I hear she can be a little overbearing. She told DaNina that I was not allowed to be the one that wrote down what everyone got her because I had made the invitations. How lame is that?? I thought that maybe her sister would do it, but turns out she isn't going because she has to work. I don't know who is taking pictures either. Maybe I will do it all if no one else will volunteer (and maybe that will get me out of some of the games ugh).

Monday, April 23, 2012

April 23rd

Friday night Eddie and I watched the Help. I liked it, I don't know if Eddie did.

Saturday morning I worked. I was pretty tired, but I muddled through. Then that afternoon we went for a walk around the canal and on a couple trails. On our last trail, Vallerie went off road, and started wandering through the woods. It was pretty cute. She didn't get too far though.

Then when we got home, Vallerie played in her sandbox for a little while. It was kind of cold, so we didn't want her staying in for a long period of time.

After she went to bed we started to watch The Skin I Live in, but I fell asleep before it even started, and Eddie didn't want to watch it because there were subtitles through the whole thing (well, the first 20 min at least because that's when he stopped it) Then we were going to watch The Walking Dead on Netflix, but I fell asleep to that too. I think Eddie continued to watch it because he said he only has 1 episode left.

Sunday was kind of a lazy day. I cleaned a little bit and watched tv. Vallerie was pretty good most of the day. The only real time she got fussy was when it was bed time. I tried reading her a couple stories, but she ripped a page out of the 1st book I tried to read. She wasn't very interested.

After she was in bed we watched a couple episodes of Boardwalk Empire. One of the episodes didn't record after the first 15 minutes. I was so mad! So, the episode we watched after that we had to kind of fill in the gaps.

We got a bit of good news. Our mower is fixed. Eddie's brother in law (the handy one) took it last weekend and said he would look at it. Well, I guess he has it all up and running. He said he only spent about $20. Our yard is getting pretty long, so hopefully he brings it back soon, or our neighbor mows for us. I would actually like to get out there and do it myself. I like to mow.

I am probably going to make Eddie's sister's Thank You cards for her baby shower this Saturday. I still have enough paper. I don't think she needs a ton.

Friday, April 20, 2012

April 20th

I guess I forgot to blog on Thursday.

Wednesday after work I came home and Vallerie and I went out to Alco to buy some diapers. While we were there we were roaming the isles, and I found a shower attachment, to replace the broken one we have.

After we got home, I installed (all by myself) the new shower part, and it works perfectly! We can now remove the shower head/cord from the attachment and use it like it's supposed to be used! (I even washed my hair with it today)

After Vallerie was in bed, I made a few corner bookmarks, and cut some paper for baby shower invitations to send to my mom. I don't know when I will start them, but at least I have the paper cut.

Yesterday after work Eddie and I watched 2 movies. Young Adult and Coloumbiana (?) Both were pretty good. I actually stayed awake for both of them! It was late when I got off of work too, so it was a pretty big accomplishment for me.

After that it was like 2am, so we went to bed.

This morning before work I stopped by CVS and McDonald's. That's about all that has happened today so far.

Oh I forgot to mention, Vallerie said "sticky" yesterday.

Update:
Vallerie was eating lunch today, and Eddie had spinach. Vallerie decided she wanted some, so Eddie gave some to her. We were joking around and told her it would make her strong like Popeye, then we would flex and say arrr. Well, Vallerie flexed and said arr too. It was really cute. Granted she didn't quite flex the way we did.

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

April 18th

Yesterday after I got home from work I hung out with Vallerie until it was time for bed, then I went to the library and returned our movies and books. I got two more movies. Young Adult and 30 Minutes or Less.

We watched 30 Minutes or Less, and it was pretty good. There were some funny parts. Then we went to bed. I had a pretty bad headache, not like a pounding one, it was more of a burning one. Hard to explain.

Today we find out what direction the company is taking for next year. I think a lot of people are nervous. I'm not really, but maybe I should be??

That's all for now. It's early yet.

Monday, April 16, 2012

April 16th

We had a nice weekend.

Saturday My cousin, aunt, and grandpa came over and we celebrated Easter. Vallerie got some cool stuff and some really pretty clothes from my cousin. They are all little sleeveless shirts and leggings, so I hope it gets warm enough for her to wear them. Then we all went out to eat at the Country Club. Vallerie was pretty good, but she is getting into a "throwing" stage, so she threw some food. (She didn't throw it far, and it was only twice. I think one time it was the parsley from my plate)

Sunday we went into town and stopped by Eddie's moms. She gave me a bunch of yarn and a couple crochet hooks. Then we stopped by Eddie's sister DaNina's and hung out for a little while. After that we went home and it was warm enough for Vallerie to play in her sandbox. She was throwing sand, so I tried to teach her that it was not ok to do that, and gave her a couple time outs on the porch. She was not happy. Eddie made chili for dinner. It was really good, but there is a ton of it. We could probably live on it for a week!

Working from home today. It's been rather slow, so I have been bored. I only have a couple hours left though, so it's not too bad. I think we will watch a few episodes of one of our HBO shows we have recorded tonight. We were going to watch them last night, but Eddie was so full he napped on the couch after we ate, and didn't wake up until I was ready to go to bed.

Friday, April 13, 2012

April 13th

Today is Friday the 13th, but I have actually had a decent day.

Yesterday after work I made an amigurumi mouse (for my sister). It turned out really well. I started on a pattern, but it was huge, so I ripped it apart and started over to make it smaller. It's now about 4" tall. It's super cute.

After that Eddie and I ate some good thrown together food. Hamburger, noodles, a can of beef stew. It doesn't sound appetizing, but it was actually really good.

Then we watched some tv and went to bed.

Not sure what today's plan is. Eddie might help his brother in law move more dirt. If he does, I think I would like to stay home.

Tomorrow my cousin will be in town, so we are having our Easter. We'll probably go out to eat afterwards too. Sometime this weekend I need to go to the grocery. I just haven't had the time yet.

Thursday, April 12, 2012

April 12th

It's been kind of an uneventful last couple days.

Vallerie is getting good at copying words. She can pretty much tell us her basic needs. Juice (when she's thirsty) Food (when she's hungry) Night Night (when she wants a nap) and Something that sounds like a mix of juice and cracker (when she wants a snack). If she could just tell us when she wants a diaper change that would be great. So far, the only way we know is to check it, and also apparently when she takes off her pants. She's also been removing her diaper the last couple days, Not sure if it's because it's wet, or if she just wants to run around bare butt.

Tuesday right before bed time the Simpson's was on, and they were saying "recall" over and over, Vallerie then proceeded to say recall twice. Eddie wasn't in the room. I'm not sure if he believes me or not, but it was funny.

I've been making some amigurumi animals and things. It's really fun and I am getting a lot better. I am probably going to buy some yarn (in a variety of colors) next weekend. I told Eddie I wouldn't go crazy, so I think I'll only get a few.

Last night we watched Crazy Stupid Love. It was an alright movie. There were some funny parts, but it had Steve Carell in it, so that was bound to happen.

Took out a few more pieces of clothes out of Eddie's closet today (shh don't tell). He really needs to go through the baskets that have been setting out (HINT HINT) I may end up just tossing them all. (haha just kidding).

It's been chilly the last few days, which stinks because Vallerie can't play in her sandbox. That sand gets really cold, and the last time she was in it (Monday I think) she came in and her hands and feet were ice cold. I hope it warms up a bit because it's fun to watch her play in it. And, I know she really likes it.

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

April 10th

Yesterday Eddie made another addition to Vallerie's sandbox. He put a deck on the left side, and made a little bridge to connect it to the sandbox. It looks FANTASTIC! The new deck is covering up a really ugly concrete slab, so it is a great improvement to the look on the outside.

After I got off of work, Vallerie went down for another nap (she didn't nap long the 1st time) and I went out and helped Eddie finish up the deck.

After Vallerie was up we hung out for a bit and then she played in the sandbox. She seemed to have a great time. She even walked across the bridge a couple times. I was using her sand toys and making little towers, and she would come along and squish them. So, I said "squish" when she did it. One time after I said it, she said it too! It was so cute!

She's getting really good at talking. She will try and say what we say all the time. Like this morning I said Love You and it really sounded like she said it back. I was excited. Also yesterday when I was working, the UPS guy banged on the front door, and she went into the hall and  yelled "MOOOOOOM" from downstairs. We didn't make it to the door in time though. I think he'll stop by again today.

Back to yesterday: after Vallerie was in bed, we watched 2 movies. Warrior and Drive. I fell asleep during both. I am just a horrible movie watcher. I have to take the movies back to the library today. I'll probably get a couple more.

Monday, April 9, 2012

April 9th. Weekend and Easter!

We had a pretty great weekend.

Friday after work we went into town and bought supplies to  make Vallerie's sandbox. The kit we were thinking of buying was roughly $175 (not including sand) Sand was $40, SO if we would have bought the kit, it would have cost at least $215, and Eddie would have had to assemble it.

Since we went the smart route and bought our own lumber and stuff, I think we only spent $40 on wood, $40 on sand, and $20ish on screws and hinges. So, in total we spent around $100. Saving over $100!! I don't want to toot my own horn, but I was the one who pointed out that he would have had to build the kit anyway, so that's why he decided to just make one from scratch.

The kit we wanted had 2 benches that folded up from the lid (see last post) Eddie decided not to make that one because with the benches, it really didn't leave much of a sandbox. So, he made the lid fold out into a deck. It looks amazing. Especially after adding decorative rocks on both sides of it.

The next project is to add another little 4x4 deck to the left of it and have a little bridge that goes from the deck to the sandbox. I really think it's going to be neat. Eddie is really excited too. I think it was a great project for him. He likes working with his hands and I think he also really enjoyed making something for Vallerie.

While Eddie was bringing home the sandbox stuff (He had his sisters husband help with a truck) Vallerie and I went to good ol' Hobby Lobby. I bought some safety eyes for my amigurumi and some yarn. Then we stopped by the bank and got some rolled coins to fill Easter eggs with.

Saturday was the sandbox build. Eddie and his brother in law started around 2pm and didn't get 100% done until 10pm ish. However, there was a break in there to eat dinner. Vallerie and I went to Alco to get a few things in the afternoon. I was really going there to look for stuffing for my amigurumi's. They had some, but it was a tiny bag for $7. I ended up buying a pillow for $5 and it's pretty big (like 3 sizes bigger than the bag of stuffing). (Same stuffing on the inside)

I ended up finishing both amigurumi bunnies for my two 7yr old neices' big Easter eggs. If I would have had more time, I would have made my little nephew one. I also put all the coins into Easter eggs.

Sunday was Easter. It was fun! After Vallerie got up from her nap, we went over to Eddie's brother in laws parents house. We ate a little lunch and then the kids went out to hunt eggs. Vallerie was a great egg hunter! Eddie would just tell her to follow him, and she would find the eggs no problem. He didn't even have to point them out to her. She also is sneaky. She tried to take eggs out of her cousins basket. She got some cool Easter goodies. Candy, chocolate cookie sticks, bouncy balls, a candy pooping chicken, silly putty (holding on the that for her), and lip gloss... (uh... yea that's going to have to wait a few years). She ended up getting $2.70 from the eggs she picked up. That will go into her piggy bank.

After we were done there we stopped by Eddie's sister Nina's to borrow the power tools for the other deck Eddie's going to build. Then we went home and gave Vallerie her Easter present from us. The sandbox (from dad) and her sandbox toys (from me) She spent about an hour playing in it. She seemed to be having a lot of fun. The only downside to the sandbox, is the sand. It gets everywhere!! I guess that's something we're going to have to get used to, and also come up with ways to minimize the amount of sand that gets in the house.

After Vallerie was in bed, Eddie posted pictures of the sandbox and the building of the sandbox on his facebook. He was a little obsessed with checking to see if people were commenting. We were going to watch the movie Warrior, but I thought I would fall asleep, so we went to bed and watched tv. Eddie actually stayed up a while longer than me.

Today I am working from home. I will have to run downstairs at some point today and do some laundry. I have no clean jeans. I also have 2 loads to fold and put away (the part I hate most).

I'm not sure if Eddie is getting lumber today for the other deck or not. He was talking about it. I'll probably work on my amigurumi tonight. I started a cupcake! So far so good...

Friday, April 6, 2012

April 6th

Yesterday I tried crocheting again, and I think I have it figured out. I ended up making a ball. It's a little messy, but both Eddie and I thought it was decent for my first try. I started another one, and it's already looking better than the 1st one. Now all I need is some fluff to put in the inside. I am hoping to make an octopus amigurami. I have the pattern in a book from the library. It looked like the easiest one to do. (Since I only know like 2 stitches)

After I got off of work I watched a funny episode of the Simpsons, ate some cereal... ALPHABITS! I found them at the grocery. I was SO happy!! (I haven't seen them in years)

Then Eddie and I watched some tv and went to bed.

I think we'll buy Vallerie's sandbox today. We found one online that we like. The lid is actually 2 benches that fold up and down. Here's a pic:

Benches up:                                                Benches down:

It's not too expensive either. We'll have to shop a little to see where has the best price. I think we're also going to go to Rural King and Toys R Us to see what they have. We really wanted one that Vallerie could play in, and then if her 3 cousins came over they could play in too.

Not sure what our Easter plans are. My idea for Vallerie's Easter basket was to put sandbox toys in it. She really doesn't need candy and all that junk. Maybe a cute little stuffed animal or something. If we did get candy, I know who would end up eating it. (Me) Next year though, she'll get the good stuff.

Thursday, April 5, 2012

April 5th

Worked late yesterday, but we did have a pretty good night.

We watched 2 movies. Larry Crowne (It was alright, but not very exciting) and Doubt (snooze fest). Eddie didn't like either one. I really didn't like Doubt. I fell asleep. We also got Eddie's sisters baby shower gifts. They are awesome. I am a little concerned though because her registry still shows them as being needed. I really hope no one else buys what we got.

Went to the library today before work and got 2 more movies (Contagion, which Eddie said he wouldn't watch because it was about a virus, and those kind of movies freak him out, and Warrior) We'll probably watch Warrior tonight, and I will have to watch Contagion alone. Boo Hoo.

I also got 4 books on crocheting. I really am hoping to figure it out. I know what I am supposed to do, and kind of understand the patterns now, but I am not making my yarn loose enough, and I'm sure that I don't know how to hold it correctly. Maybe with some luck (and practice) I will be able to get it sorted out.

I'm reading a new book (put "I don't know how she does it" on hold) It's called My Sunshine, and it's really good. I started it yesterday and am already 1/2 way through. It's an easy read and a nice story. Now that I think about it. I am actually "reading" 4 books... crap. Oh well.

Cut my finger on a can today so I have a couple band aids on my finger. Probably won't work well with trying to crochet.

That's about all I know... Chilly today.

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Wednesday April 4th

Monday I had a doc appt, and I thought about switching birth control, but I found out the one that I wanted was not covered by my insurance, so I decided not to get it, and stay with what I had. Bummer.

After I got home we walked up to the library and got a couple movies. We were going to say hi to my grandpa on the way home, but he was in town with my Aunt.

That night we watched Cowboys & Aliens. Eddie fell asleep. I thought it was ok. Kind of a weird concept for a movie.

Tuesday I worked in the office doing mail room things. It was an ok time. When I got home we went to Columbian park and met up with Eddie's mom and his nephew. Vallerie and him played for about an hour and a half until Eddie's brother in law came to pick up his son. Then we took Eddie's mom home and then we came home.

Vallerie played in the sand a lot while we were there. When we came home she had sand all up in her diaper. I am starting to re-think her getting a sandbox. Eddie said we could fill it with peat gravel, but I don't know if that would be as much fun. I'm sure we'll figure something out.

Today I went back to the doc to get my shot. Fun...

I tried to crochet, I can't figure it out. I think I am holding the yarn wrong. There are these cute amigurami animals I would LOVE to make, but I just can not for the life of me figure out how to do it. I was thinking maybe I should practice normal crochet first, and then try those later. I was kind of hoping I could pick it up fast, but I guess not. I've always wanted to know how to do it, so I'm a little sad.

Monday, April 2, 2012

Monday April 2nd

Saturday was pretty uneventful. After work we hung out. Our landlord came over because our heater wasn't kicking on. He thinks he knows what's wrong and should come back today I think to fix it. He also investigated our leak in the kitchen and said he was going to have the water company look into our toilet leak.

Yesterday we just stayed home. We were going to go to Eddie's sister's house, but decided it was too late. One of our shows is recording on HBO, so we watched a few episodes of another show that we had on our Tivo so we could free up some space.

I made a couple bookmarks today. They are corner bookmarks. I have one in the book I am reading. It works pretty well. I might make more and send them to my mom. Not sure yet.

I have a doctors appt this afternoon. I was going to talk to my doctor about changing my birth control, but now I don't know if I will. I don't think I have any good options. I'll just wait I think.

I'm reading the book "I don't know how she does it." I don't think I like it. The mail character seems like a complete bitch. I don't like her... I don't know if I will finish it or not. I have about 8 other books to read.