Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Think I'm gonna be bored today

8:32 AM

Well it's Tuesday... Not Friday. Sigh.

Last night Eddie and I didn't do much of anything. We played with Vallerie for a little while and then had pizza for dinner. Vallerie had spaghetti O's with meatballs. Yum Yum.

My alarm clock decided to crap out on me. It worked, but I couldn't set the alarm time. So, luckily Vallerie had one in her room that I could use. Unfortunately, I had to go in her room and unplug it while she was sleeping. I also had to plug in the old one so she could have a radio. Well, the radio on the crappy alarm clock was crappy, so I had to fiddle with it for like 10 minutes before I could get a clear station. Vallerie didn't wake up thank god. It also took me a little while to figure out how to work the new alarm. I finally got it.

Did a small amount of "knitting" the baby blanket I am making. Read a couple pages in my book.

We watched a couple episodes of Desperate Housewives, then went to sleep.

I did not want to get up this morning. I kept hitting the snooze button. Finally Vallerie decided to wake up, so I figured it was a good time to get up and get ready for work.

Tomorrow and Thurs is our sales kick off at work. It is in Indy. I really don't want to go, but I have to. At least it's not in St. Louis like it was a few years ago. While not a bad time, I just don't like being away from home. It's going to be really hard this time because now I have to leave Vallerie too. I don't think I will like not seeing her and being able to tuck her into bed.

On Friday the office will be rearranged, and I will have to move my desk and all my collected junk. I am kind of excited to get on a new team.

That's all for now. Toot-a-loo.

My Baby Vallerie

Eddie and I were looking over our vacation pictures last night, and I have to say, we have the cutest baby.

I love her so much. I don't know what I would do without her.

She makes every day special.

She is the greatest thing in the whole world.



Monday, July 25, 2011

Fri, Sat, Sun

Friday after work we went into town. Eddie wanted to return a game he bought, so we did that. We were going to do a little shopping, but Vallerie wasn't cooperating. We stopped by Eddie's moms to pick up a little swimming pool she got for Vallerie. It's cute. Eddie's mom also had a round loom that she wasn't using, so I borrowed it. I think after I finish the baby blanket I am making, I will try and make a baby cocoon with the round loom.

Saturday I did some laundry and the dishes. It was pretty much a hang out/tidy the house day.

Sunday we went to Toys R Us. Eddie bought a game with the $ he had from the game he returned. We bought Vallerie a little dinosaur stuffed animal, and one of those foam mats with the alphabet and numbers on it. It is huge. I put it all together, and as soon as Vallerie got on it, she started ripping it apart. She seems to like it though. She had her eye on this big stuffed duck (twice her size) it was kind of ugly... it has this flowery pattern on it, and it wasn't really soft like the other stuffed animals. We might go back and buy it for her I don't know.

After putting the mat down I got to thinking. Our bedroom is right behind the living room. Vallerie has a TON of toys. (I actually took 1/2 and bagged them up. Going to rotate them so she doesn't get bored with the same ol' toys) I thought it might be good to move our bedroom where her room is, and use our bedroom for her room. We could move all of her toys into her room and let her run around in there and the living room instead of having her just in the living room most of the day.

There are a few problems that come to mind.
1. The computer. It is currently in our bedroom. I don't think the cables will stretch, and we can't leave it where it is because she might think they are a good snack.
2. Nap time. If we're hanging out in the living room, we might wake her up... Maybe we could buy a pack and play and put it in our room for her to nap in...
3. The couch currently has it's back to our room. If she were to move in there and play, we would need to also rearrange the living room so we could see that she was ok while playing in her room.

If I had my computer I would hop on the sims and make a mock up of our rooms... Oh well.

I will have to talk to Eddie more about it and see what he wants to do.

Vallerie is walking more and more. She gets so excited. Sometimes she wants to run, but falls because she isn't that coordinated. She's also developed the habit of laying on her back, stomping her legs on the floor, and squealing. She's not upset or crying when she does this, she is happy and laughing! I think she is practicing for future tantrums. She'll be great at it let me tell you.

This weekend was way too short. It only felt like I had 1 day off. Not that I did anything too strenuous, it just felt so short! Wish I had more time to be with my family. There just never seems to be enough time.

Friday, July 22, 2011

Friday at Last

1:49 PM

Last night Vallerie walked! She took about 6 steps and then fell in Eddie's lap. It was awesome!
Eddie called today and said she walked really good (and I missed it). I have a feeling she will be off the floor within the next week. Very excited, but also kinda worried.

Before Vallerie went to bed she did her rounds... literally. I guess now when she's tired, she will crawl on the floor in circles, not really paying attention where she's going. She'll stop at a toy and pick it up, then put it down and continue on in a big circle, going around the room.  Sometimes she runs into things.

She also has figured out some of the things she shouldn't have in her sticky little hands. (mainly remotes and phones) Yesterday she picked up the remote, and I got up to take it away. She thought it would be hilarious to run (crawl) from me! She ended up ditching the remote and taking a mad dash in the other direction. It was pretty stinkin cute. All the while she was laughing.

Eddie and I watched "Love and Other Drugs" last night. It was ok. It got a little boring after a while and I just wanted it to end. We need to get a lot of Netflixing in soon. They're raising their prices, and we're gonna get rid of the DVDs in the mail.

Did a couple loads of laundry yesterday. Vallerie was a good little "helper". I am wanting to get all the laundry tackled so we can open the dining room and kitchen up for her once she starts walking. (Still need to baby proof) I should be able to get it done this weekend, if Vallerie decides to cooperate. She's normally pretty good about being in her walker while I am cleaning and stuff.

Our bathtub has a clog. Yesterday I bought some draino. It came with a cute little plastic snake grabber tool. So, I read the instructions, and did what needed to be done. Well, after the water finally went down, I decided I would stick the snake grabber thing back in the drain to see if I could get anything else out of it. I shouldn't have done that because part of the snake grabber thing broke off. So now we still have a clogged drain AND there is a little bit of snake grabber in there, so when more hair collects in the drain it's gonna be really hard (or impossible) to take care of without calling a plumber... We might call one anyway. I was gonna go and check it out myself, but Eddie didn't want me hanging out in the crawl space. Go figure. I might buy some more draino and see if I can get more of the clog out.

The shoes I wore today gave me blisters. I put band aids on them for now. I hope they don't hurt too bad this evening. (thanks for the shoes mom hehe)

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Thursday Blues

7:36 AM

I am kind of blah today. I don't really know why. I guess I just want to go home.

Last night we had spaghetti for dinner. We gave Vallerie her very own plate. It was MESSY. Not that we were expecting anything different though. We got some pictures of her "eating" it. I think she seemed to enjoy it. She also enjoyed getting into my purse with her spaghetti hands. I'll probably be finding spaghetti in there for a long long time.

After dinner we gave Vallerie a much needed bath. She was splashing up a storm. It wasn't the normal little splashing she does, these were baby mega splashes. She was having a ball. I think Eddie and I got more wet than she did.

Put Vallerie to bed, and Eddie watched some TV and I went upstairs to make a Thank You card for Eddie's brother-in-laws parents. About 1/2 way through I came down stairs to get a drink, and I must have done something because Vallerie woke up and just screamed. Eddie finally got her calmed down, but she was up for about 45 minutes before she went back to sleep. I went back upstairs and finished the card. I actually made 4. I figure it's just as easy to make multiples as it is to make one. I didn't put the "thanks" on the other 3 though. I figure I'll save them for something else. Pretty soon I will have a card stash... actually I already have a pretty good one. I should get something to organize them.

After I finished the card, I went downstairs and started on a baby blanket for a gal at work. They are doing an under the sea theme, so I picked out yarn that I thought would be good for it, however after I started, it seems too grey. Not really "baby". I'm going to finish it of course, but I will probably just keep it for some other occasion. There was another skein of yarn that I thought might work, but it only had a couple colors in it. I will probably buy it and see how it turns out.

Then I went to bed. I didn't sleep very well. I kept waking up.

I realized something while I was making the cards last night. If I plan out a design, it takes a lot less time to make the card if I color in the design with the colors I think I want to use. I know it sounds like a "duh" thing, but I have so many designs made up that aren't colored in. If I wouldn't have colored in the design for the thank you card I made, it would have taken me so much longer to pick out colors and get it all done.

That's all for now. I'm thirsty.

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Vacation Week Two - Florida

The 2nd half of our vacation took us to Panama City FL.
We met Eddie's sister, brother in-law and their 2 kids.

Friday: Long drive. Vallerie was excellent. While we were driving, this guy (we'll call him Richie Rich) sped past us. A minute later we see a cop pull him over. Haha take that Richie Rich!

We got there early. We didn't realize there was a time change (1hour behind) so we had to wait for our room to be ready. We waited for about an hour. When we finally checked in, we had to wait for what seemed like forever for the elevators. I'm not talking a couple minute wait either. It was probably 15-20 minutes. It was horrible. I would assume since it was the weekend, that's why it was so bad. Our room was really nice. It had a full kitchen (loved the dishwasher) and even a washer/dryer. The bad thing, was that they didn't mop the floor, so after a few minutes our feet (and Vallerie's legs/hands) were black. We called housekeeping and had them come up to mop the floors.

The hotel was non smoking, so I had a bit of a problem indulging in my bad habit. I learned to live with it though.

We went to the pool. Vallerie loved it. We bought her a little lady bug inter tube to sit in. She had a great time splashing around.
Vallerie riding in the car

Saturday: We went to the pool again. We also went to Sams Club and Walmart to buy dinner for the week. Since we had a full kitchen we decided to cook most nights instead of going out to eat. It took forever. None of the children were cooperating.

We took a short trip to the beach. Vallerie did not like the water. I don't know if she didn't like the salt water taste or what, but when Eddie took her in, she just screamed. She was fine sitting on the beach letting the waves hit her a little, but once she was out in it fully, she was a totally different baby.

I think this was the night we had spaghetti. Eddie totally screwed it up. He used 1/2 a bottle of Garlic Salt. He said that he was used to cooking with Garlic Powder, so that's why it was so bad. I couldn't even eat it, it was so salty. I don't even remember what we ate instead. All I know is Eddie and his Brother in law went out for replacement food, and they were gone for like 2 hours. The road the hotel was on was always packed, and by the time they went out a lot of places were closed.

Vallerie looking over the balcony

Sunday: The hotel kept calling wanting us to go to a timeshare presentation. They would call at the worst times... when Vallerie (and me) were napping. The phone was loud too. I decided that I was sick of it, and unplugged the phone in the bedroom. I actually was a little irritated when I unplugged it, so it was more of a frantic "OMG WTF" unplug...

We went to Ripley's Believe it or Not Museum. That was fun. We got some really good pictures. Vallerie was a little fussy, so Eddie had to carry her most of the time.

We were going to have a seafood buffet with delicious crab legs, but they were too packed to go. We ended up having KFC instead.

Eddie and I watched "Red Riding Hood" It was pretty good. I have wanted to see it for a while. Eddie fell asleep and I didn't HA!


Me and Vallerie in front of a dolphin skeleton @ Ripleys

Eddie in the "electric chair" It was broken... he's only pretending

Eddie holding Vallerie over the Mayan sacrifice display

Eddie and Vallerie in the tunnel that spins. Hard to keep balanced in there!


Monday: CRAB LEGS! They were fantastic! I have been wanting crab legs for years! Mmmm. Eddie got mad because he sucked at cracking them. I ended up cracking them for him after (and before) I had my fill. I love cracking those things. I could do it all day long. Crackity crack crack.

We went to the pool that night. After we were done we were walking out the gate, and it slammed on my ankle as I walked out. It gave me a little cut. Nothing major, but it hurt.

Vallerie "helping" unpack her suitcase

Giving me the "I didn't do it" face

Being silly

Crab legs time!

Vallerie didn't want to leave


Tuesday: Vallerie and I went Shopping with Eddie's sister and her youngest (same age as V) We went to the outlet mall about a mile away from the hotel. It was hot, but fun.

I bought some baby clothes and bumpits. I was disappointed that the "As Seen on TV" store didn't have Pajama Jeans. I was gonna buy some for my sister. I also was disappointed the the NIKE store didn't have the shoes I wanted. I used to have a pair of awesome Nike's... I don't think they make em anymore. I was expecting to spend a lot more money than I did. Probably a good thing.



Wednesday: We went to the beach. I dug a really big hole. Vallerie played in the sand. We dug a small hole and put her in it, and as I was putting a shovel full of sand on top, Vallerie thought it was a giant spoon and took a big bite of sand. She was not happy. We got some good pictures.

Eddie got a little burnt. He decided not to wear sunscreen. Vallerie and I didn't get burnt at all. The miracles of sunscreen!

That night we had pork loin for dinner. It was awesome!


Getting ready to head to the beach

Hanging out in the sand

Digging

Getting the sand out of her mouth after she ate a big bite

Thursday: We went to a couple of the crappy nick knack shops. We bought some silly souvenirs. We had lunch/dinner at Buffalo Wild Wings. Once again, the children weren't cooperating.

We went back to the room and Eddie took a little nap while I packed up our stuff. It took forever! We got the car all loaded and we were on our way around 11PM.


At dinner. Doesn't she look happy? No? Well she wasn't.

Friday: Drove home. We stopped around 3AM to switch drivers, and there was this creepy guy! He said that he was on a layover from the Greyhound Bus and asked Eddie for some money. Eddie said he smelled horrible. I was a little scared. I drove off pretty quick after that.

As I was driving, a semi tire came off of the semi in front of me. I didn't hit it, but I did run over a little bit of the smaller part that came off.

We got home around 2PM. As soon as we got in, Eddie turned on the computer only to find that it turned on, but had a black screen... Yay our comp is broken again. We didn't even get 10 minutes of happy home time. Oh well.

That's all I can remember... I wish I had pics to post, but as I said, home computer is broken. Hopefully fixed soon.

Glad to be home. It was a long vacation. Don't know if I would do 2 weeks again...

Vacation Week One - Virginia

The start of our vacation took us to Virginia to see my mom.
Here are the highlights of our journey.

Thursday: While driving down to VA, we hit a dead deer. It didn't do any damage really. (As far as we could tell) There was some blood on the tires however. It was pretty scary though. There was blood all over the road.
Vallerie was an excellent traveler. We drove through the night so she slept most of the way. When she was awake she was pretty quiet, unless she was hungry.

Friday: After getting to my moms, we slept... a lot. So it was a really relaxing re-coup day.

Saturday: Vallerie's 1st birthday! We had a party. It was so much fun. My sister came up from NC to join in the festivities. Vallerie got some awesome presents and had a good time ripping in to the cake. We have tons of pictures. It really was a cool party.

We went to Walmart and bought a couple board games, Gnomeo and Juliet (movie), and Suckerpunch (movie). We ended up returning the board games. (unopened of course) While we were in the longest line ever at customer service, we overheard the cashier guy counting out money. He was so dumb. He counted out 4 $20's and thought it equalled $60. (As Eddie says "Stupid must run in the water")

We got the car washed to get rid of all the deer goo. It did a pretty good job. I sure didn't see any goo after that.

Sunday: We went to Boxerwood and walked around the gardens. They had a little area for kids to play, so we took Vallerie in there and let her goof around a bit. It was oh so hot. We were all sweating and smelly by the time we were done. We visited a family friend (my babysitter when I was a kid) for a few minutes. Unfortunately, the chairs my mom and I sat in must have just been re-stained because both of our shirts had chair marks on them. (Luckily mine came out in the wash)

That night Eddie and I watched Gnomeo and Juliet. I fell asleep before it was over... It was pretty cute (even though I have strong feelings about gnomes in any hat color other than red)

Monday: 4th of July fireworks! We went over to VMI and did a little shopping at the booths. We bought Vallerie some ducks. A bunny duck, an army duck, a dinosaur duck, and the best duck ever.. a gnome duck! (with a red hat of course)

We ate some food, which was a really bad idea. Eddie got food poisoning from some BBQ chicken. We waited for what seemed like forever for the fireworks to start. Fatty Lumpkin and the Love Hogs played and played... they were not that great... we finally got to see a few fireworks, but Eddie needed to get out of there with a quickness. We ended up going into one of the buildings at VMI to find him a bathroom to puke in. We all made it home and Eddie went straight upstairs. I felt so bad for him.

Tuesday: While Eddie was recovering, my mom, Vallerie, and I went shopping down town. I bought Eddie some hot sauce. It was fun going to the little shops. They were all so expensive though. Vallerie did ok shopping. Not great, just ok.

Eddie and I watched Sucker Punch (he was feeling a little better) He said that even though he was sick, it was awesome because he had no baby duties, and he was babied. (sigh)

Wednesday: Went to the Natural Bridge Zoo. It was hot. All the animals wanted to eat the babies fingers. She got close to the giraffes, goats, and camels. Feeding the goats was fun (and kinda gross) We bought her a little goat stuffed animal. It's really soft.

Thursday: Packed all our stuff. Realized that Eddie's wallet had been stolen (or lost) It was in a waterproof case with one of Vallerie's pacifiers. It probably happened one of the times I drove somewhere. I have a bad habit of not locking the car. Sorry Eddie! Luckily he had the part of his wallet that had his ID and credit cards. The only thing that was in the part that got stolen was some old receipts, movie tickets, and pictures. Oh... and our birth certificates! So, needless to say, we have to call several places to report those as stolen so no one can steal our identities. (fun fun)

We went to Walmart (again) to get some beach supplies.

We left for FL that night around 11PM (I think)

Misc: Sometime during the week we bought Vallerie a little kiddo pool to hang out in. She played in it a lot. She really liked splashing around in the water with all her ducks. She did really well at my moms house. She liked playing on the stairs... it worried me, but she only made it up the first one before we would stop her.

All in all, it was an excellent visit with my mom. I wish we could have spent the whole 2 weeks there.

Back from Vacation

We have returned from vacation. We actually got back Friday afternoon. I have been meaning to blog about what we did during those 2 weeks, but when we got home and turned on our computer, it didn't work.
I can probably do it on the work computer, but finding some spare time will be the hardest part. Maybe later today after I get settled.

The last few days we have been trying to get things back in order, and on our normal routine. Vallerie got her (4) 1yr shots yesterday. She did pretty well. One of them really made her cry (poor thing) she slept pretty late today. She wasn't awake when I left. I think she is awake now. Eddie said she was starting to wake up when I called around 7. We've switched her to whole milk instead of formula. It is so much nicer! (Not to mention cheaper) She did good with the switch.

I think our team (at work) is going to the 4-H fair today. I hope we don't stay long. It's supposed to be really hot.

I already miss being at home with Eddie and Vallerie. I am hoping the day goes by quick, but it probably won't.

Need to make a thank you card for Eddie's bro-in-law's parents. They are the ones who let us use their timeshare points in FL for the hotel. I am thinking of doing a beach theme with a sandcastle...