Monday, September 8, 2014

Monday Sept 8th

Last Friday Eddie sent me this heartwarming FB message wishing me a happy anniversary. It made me cry it was so sweet. I also had to laugh because our anniversary isn't actually until this Friday. He even sent me flowers at work. (Which made me cry again). The 3rd thing that made me cry was that he used the $ he was going to buy a game for himself, which he's been waiting to come out for 2 years. I just am so lucky to have someone so wonderful in my life. I couldn't ask for a better father to our daughter. I blame ALL of her intelligence (and wildness) on him. We are the perfect match.

Yesterday Eddie's sister dropped off their son so Eddie could watch him for them today. We had pizza for dinner. Vallerie was so excited to have her cousin stay the night.

Not much else is going on. Been busy at work, which is better than doing nothing I suppose.

Monday, August 25, 2014

August 25th 2014

Since I can't remember everything that happened within the last month, I"ll go over the highlights.

August 5th was my birthday. As far as I can remember it was a good day. Eddie Vallerie and I went out to eat. I had a 1/2 day at work because we had some in the field training (literally in the field). It rained a little bit, but it wasn't too bad.

We went to Old Settler's in town (like we always do). My cousin Nicki was in town. so we all had a really good time. Vallerie rode on every ride except 2 which she was too small for. She played some games and got some good loot. Nicki chipped in on the duck game and Vallerie got a sweet care bear.

We bought Vallerie some Christmas lights for her room since she's been saying she was scared of the dark. Well, 2 strands of white lights were way too bright, so we ended up unplugging one of them. Seems to be OK now, but we want to "upgrade" to purple. I think that will make it just bright enough without being too bright to sleep.

Tried to find some printable iron on transfers so I could make Vallerie a shirt from the Yoshi drawing I made, but I checked Hobby Lobby and Walmart and couldn't find any. I will probably have to look online.

I went to a movie with some work friends last Friday. We saw "If I Stay". It was better than I thought it would be. It was a sad movie and there were a lot of chicks crying and sniffling. Before we went to the movie we had sushi. Not my favorite meal, but there are a few things that I like. Hopefully we will do it again. I assume we'll see the new Hunger Games movie in November.

Eddie has been working with Vallerie on telling time. I think she's doing pretty well with it.

I know more happened, but I really can't remember. I need to start making notes.

Thursday, July 24, 2014

July 24th 2014

Another long time no post (thanks for the guilt trip mom)

Vallerie turned 4 on July 2nd. My mom came in from VA for several days to celebrate that and the 4th. Vallerie got a couple big gifts this year. She got a twin size mattress, so she upgraded into a big girl bed. She seems to like it, and it's very comfortable. She also got a tv for her room (from cousin Nicki and Aunt Kitty) and she also got a Wii U. We bought it because she really likes cars and "racing" so we thought she would LOVE Mario Cart. Well, she doesn't. She does however LOVE Mario Party 9 (another gift from Nicki). We play it almost every single day when I get home from work. My mom made Vallerie and I some matching aprons which are totally cute. Now we just need to use them. (probably this weekend). She got some sheets for her new bed, and some alligator beef jerky (her Aunt Shannon is a weird one) She also got a couple stuffed animals and a little poodle neck pillow. Eddie bought her a locket that matches the one I have only it's smaller. She probably got some other things that I can't remember off the top of my head.

We met some new neighbors on the 4th and watched the fireworks with them at the Delphi school. They had a 2yr old grandson with them, so Vallerie and him played a while before they started. It was pretty cool weather so that was very nice.

A couple weeks ago Eddie's friend Josh, his wife and their 2 kids (12 and 9) came to visit. They stayed the night and we went to the Children's museum the next day. It was a great time I haven't laughed so much or so hard in ages. We haven't seen them in several years, so it was pretty cool to have them visit.

My mom got me an ice-cream maker for my birthday. Eddie was so smitten with the strawberry ice-cream in VA that I thought I should try and make my own so my mom didn't have to attempt to bring some up the next time she visits. (She brought some for him over the 4th, and it was melted when she got here, but still re-froze well) I will probably test it out this weekend.

Froze 15 ears of corn yesterday. I got them from my boss and knew we wouldn't eat them all so I hope I froze them correctly. We'll see.

Vallerie had her 4yr check up the other day. She is healthy as always. Too smart for her age (according to the 4yr old guidelines) but that's ok with me. We like that she is so smart. It can be rough at times because she outsmarts us, but it's all good.

Yup, things around here are just delightful.

Monday, June 2, 2014

June 2nd

Long time no post...

Since it's been awhile and I can't remember everything that's happened in the last month and a half I will just go over what I can remember.

Over the Memorial Day weekend we went and visited my mom in VA. We had a great time. We went to VA Beach for one day and had a lot of fun swimming in the pool and playing on the beach. We went to Boxerwood Gardens and got our annual picture of Vallerie walking up the hill. We got ice cream a couple times. Vallerie and Eddie both said that it was the best ice cream they had ever had.

Vallerie's stuck a crayon up her nose, stuck stickers all over the wall (saying the fake man told her to), and she also decided she would put a band aid on the dog's incision (from being spayed). She actually put a band aid on it twice.

We started a new rewards/punishment system. It's good sticks and bad sticks. So we have popsicle sticks in jars. One jar has rewards (stay up 15 min late, extra dessert, sweet treat, treasure box, etc) and the other jar has punishments (go to bed 15 min early, no tv for 1 hour, toy time out, etc) Vallerie seems to be doing ok with them. She's definitely had to pick more punishments than rewards, but she sure does hate those bad sticks. I think it's more effective than time out. We have a treasure box that includes little toys and stickers, so that is potentially one of her rewards. We also have tokens as a reward on her sticks which she can use to buy things (treasure box, gas station candy, etc)

Our niece Sumer spent the night at our house last night. Her and Vallerie played with the power wheel a little before they went to bed. Sumer taught Vallerie how to steer it. Vallerie had a bad dream about a spider and woke up at 4:30. After I calmed her down and put them back in her room, Vallerie decided she didn't want to go back to sleep, so we moved Sumer into our room on the floor. I hope Eddie has an ok day with them.

We bought a bigger dog crate yesterday. I think Zooka will like it a lot better than the one she is in now which an ok size, but she's going to outgrow it pretty quick. We got it for a great price at Rural King.

Friday, April 18, 2014

April 18th

Not a lot has been going on lately, but I figured I should update.

Last Saturday we went over to Eddie's sister DaNina's house. We had an early Mother's Day present for his mom from us (Eddie, me, DaNina and her husband) It's a van. So now she has a vehicle. She seemed really happy. Hopefully she will enjoy it and not be a taxi for the grand kids.

Sunday Eddie's sister Amber and her family came over and we grilled some burgers and hot dogs. After we ate, we went to the park. Vallerie was mean and pushed her cousin off the playground. He stayed the night with us and then Eddie took him home Monday night.

While he was gone on Monday, I cleaned up the office/craft/moms room. I brought in his drawing table from the bedroom so he would have a place to draw. The "plan" is to put a tv and his xbox in there so he has somewhere to escape. We're still working on that part. I think everything will fit in there.

Vallerie's new thing is listening and dancing to the record "Mousercise". It's actually one of the records I listened to when I was a kid. The first time we did it (it's little exercises) Vallerie made us repeat it over and over and over (about 6 times) I was worn out! So now I limit it to only a few times and then she's on her own.

Tuesday Vallerie opened a letter she got from her grandma (my mom). It included pictures of her house and her cats. At the time, Vallerie didn't seem too in to it, so I pinned it on the bulletin board and set the pictures beside it. On Wednesday when I got home from work Vallerie was all excited to show me her pictures. So we went through them all and she was telling me what they were pictures of. My favorite was when she got to the one of her and my mom at the "pizza store". (Pizza King Restaurant) She remembered the train bringing the drinks. I told her that we were going to visit grandma in a few weeks and then pointed to her house picture. Vallerie got all excited and yelled "YAY!" and jumped up and down. It was great.

Yesterday we went to the store and got some egg dye. This will be the first year Vallerie will dye eggs. We don't plan on hiding them or anything, but I think she will like making them colorful. I am slightly concerned about the mess. And, I'm still not sure how to boil eggs. Something about 10 minutes...

We got the movie "The Nut Job" yesterday too. It's about squirrels. So, we had a movie night after we ate dinner. This time the movie was played in our room and we all snuggled on the bed. Well, that probably wasn't the best of plans because I think both Eddie and I fell asleep during the movie. I'm not sure if Vallerie liked it or not. I'll have to ask her.

My cousin comes in to town sometime today. Tomorrow we're going to hunt eggs at the courthouse. Well, I should say Vallerie will be hunting eggs. I haven't decided on an outfit for her yet. I don't think it's going to be really warm, but I don't think it'll be cold either. Sunday we are planning on going to Eddie's sister Amber's in-laws for the usual lunch and egg hunt. That should be fun. I like helping hide the eggs in good spots (up high in trees, burying them, etc)

I have to make a trip to the store today to get Vallerie's Easter basket stuff. I am thinking sidewalk chalk, bubbles, and maybe a jump rope. Maybe a little candy, but really she doesn't need much of that.


Monday, April 7, 2014

April 7th

Last week my mom made a surprise visit to us. We had a lot of fun while she was here. We went to the Children's museum in Indy, we took a tour of the house I always wanted to live in (an old mansion), we went to Pizza King and had the little train deliver our drinks. Vallerie liked that part. We had a movie night at home and watched Frozen. I was really happy my mom came. I know Vallerie liked it too.

Here are some pictures of our adventures:

Me...


Vallerie in the race car

Putting leaves on a tree

Carousel time (we went on it about 6 times)

More carousel fun!

Pretend ice cream shop

After Vallerie got hit in the eye with a hula hoop.

Digging in mulch. She filled the whole bucket herself.



Trains!

Pizza time

I applied for a new position at work. It's pretty much the same position I applied for last year. Hopefully I at least get an interview. I haven't heard anything yet.

I've been helping out with some other duties at work. They were short staffed in one dept, and asked me to help fill in. One of my coworkers (a manager) told me that in a meeting they had, I was the only one who had consistently finished the tasks I was assigned. Yay for me.

On Saturday Vallerie went on a bike ride. As we were headed home some kids saw Zooka and wanted to pet her. So we stopped. One of the kids was a little girl who is Vallerie's age. She wanted to talk to Vallerie. So they talked and then another little girl from across the street came over (also Vallerie's age) So we're just chatting away with these kids and their parents. Well, after a few minutes the girls want to all ride bikes. So we all walked a few blocks with the kids. It was pretty weird. Eddie and I aren't really social people anymore, so we probably came off as a little weird. Everyone we met seemed nice though. Hopefully Vallerie will play with them again soon. She seemed to have a great time.

We went to the park yesterday to play fetch with Zooka. She got tired quickly. Vallerie played on the playground. It was a good time.

Eddie is sick. Hopefully he feels better soon. That's about all I can remember for now...

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

March 18th

Last Friday it was nice enough out to go to the park (outside!) It was a little windy, but it wasn't too bad.
(I was going to put up some pictures, but they aren't on my phone anymore)

On Saturday we went to the Indy Children's Museum. My Aunt went along too. We ended up buying a years pass, so we will be returning soon. (Probably this weekend with Eddie's sister)

We saw the dinosaurs, trains, and the mummy exhibits. We only explored one floor. We did go to the planetarium for a little show with Big Bird and Elmo. (It almost made me motion sick) Vallerie seemed to like it though.

There were some mean kids. When we first got there Eddie told Vallerie to go play. She came back a few seconds later and said "Those girls said I couldn't play with them so I'll just stay here with you." Eddie and I told her that it was OK to play and that those girls weren't the boss. It made me so mad! Then there was a kid hoarding the trains. Vallerie asked him for one and he said no. So she waited, semi-patiently. (She's 3 1/2 for heavens sake!) The kid's mom didn't even do anything about it, she was too busy on her damn phone. That kind of thing really ticks me off. 

My aunt didn't last long. She started feeling ill, so she went to the car and napped until we were done. We were only there for about 3 hours. 

Here are some pictures. 

Getting ready to leave


 Checking out the Transformer with Aunt Ginger 

 Playing with the "glass" things... This is where I think we got the germs that made us sick... so many kids touching them. Ick.


 The Mummy exhibit. Collecting "rocks".

 Eddie and Vallerie in the dinosaur dome.


Sunday we stayed home and lounged, and I took Monday off. It was a pretty good weekend. We've pretty much been staying inside and not doing much this winter. I'm ready for it to be nice out again. I think we're going to have a lot of fun this spring/summer, especially with the dog.

I almost forgot: Vallerie needed new sneakers, so we bought her some light up shoes. They are awesome! We also got her a couple new shirts. While I was looking at clothes for her, Eddie and Vallerie snuck off. When we got home, Vallerie ran up to me and gave me a present that her and Eddie bought. It's a locket. I am just Thrilled! Now I need to find a couple good pics of Eddie and Vallerie to put in there! It was probably one of the best presents I could have gotten. They are both so sweet.

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

March 3rd

Yesterday Vallerie slept in our bed for a nap (which is normal). Vallerie also peed the bed (which is semi-normal... and aggravating)

When we bought our mattress 3 years ago, we also bought a liner thing that protects the mattress from stains and spills. (We thought "Hey we have a new baby, this will be very useful") Up until yesterday it worked perfectly. (Eddie even had a pen/marker leak out of his pocket one night, and there wasn't a spot of black ink on the mattress. The liner however is like 1/2 black lol) I don't know why, but when Vallerie had her accident the liner didn't do it's job. Lucky for us, the liner came with a warranty. We called the mattress store and they (amazingly) have our receipt on file. They said that we are to call the liner people and they will send someone out. If they can't clean the stain out then they will replace the mattress. Either way I will be happy. I don't even want to think about what our mattress would look/smell like without that liner. It was pricey, but totally worth every stinkin' penny.

Before we called the mattress store, I had the idea to check our safe for our receipt. Well, when we got the puppy, I moved the safe so the cat box could go where the safe was originally located. As it turns out, my memory isn't as good as it once was because I couldn't remember where I put it. I looked all over the house. It's not a small safe either. It's a fireproof safe that probably weighs 50+ lbs. Not something one can easily misplace. I eventually found it, but not before some Internet harassment. (Thanks Eddie) The receipt wasn't in there, but there were some goodies. I found Eddie and my passports. They expire in June of this year. Eddie looked so young in his picture. I remember when we got them. The post office said he could list anything as his occupation so he put "Brain surgeon". I don't remember what I put as mine. Luckily that info was not on the passport itself.

Getting faster Internet next week. Since we live in the sticks we still can't get cable Internet, but we can up our DSL speed. We've been paying for a tech service for a long time (and never use it) so I cancelled that and upgraded our speed. We'll only be paying $5 more a month for 3x the Internet speed we currently have. Totally worth it in my book. (I can't even watch Internet clips without ridiculous loading times).

A Vallerie story:
Last night (and the night before) we were eating dinner at the table, and she sits down to eat and says "I'm not looking for trouble." I don't know why she says it, or where she learned itt, but it's pretty stinkin' cute.

She actually ate her food without a fight yesterday so she got dessert. (Jello with fruit. She picked it) She was talking to Eddie and I took it away sneakily. Eddie said "POOF I made your jello disappear!" She looked at the table, got a shocked face, and then started bawling. Eddie and I thought it was kinda funny (I know mean mean mean) so I snuck it back in front of her and he "poofed" it back. She then told Eddie "Don't poof my jello, it makes me upset!".  I figure, she gives us a rough ride sometimes, it's only fair that we can mess with her a bit every once and a while.

Each night before we leave the dinner table, she has to ask to be excused, and then she will take her plate to the kitchen. Most times she will come back and take ours too. "May I take your plate sir?, May I take your plate ma'am?" So cute.

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

February 26th

A couple fun things Vallerie said recently:

Eddie's got a plants vs zombie game for the xbox, and Vallerie wanted to play. So she played a little bit and then went to get ready for bed. While doing that she was telling me how she was scared of Zombies. Then Zooka runs in the bathroom and Vallerie sits down with her and says "Zooka you'll protect me from the zombies wont you?" Then she made a "bark bark" sound (pretending to be the dog agreeing). It was pretty cute.

Yesterday she decided that she wanted to rename the pup Shorezee or Shortsee... Hard to tell really what she's saying. I kept telling her that the dog's name was already Zooka and we couldn't change it. Well, she doesn't care because she keeps calling her Shorezee. Hopefully that resolves itself soon.

Here are some pics of Vallerie and her pup... (this is how she plays, sigh)





And a some sweet pictures.







And a couple of Zooka and Dalmo





Monday, February 24, 2014

February 24th

Not much has been going on lately. We've really just been chilling out at home, which is totally fine with me.

We had a movie night last week. We watched Hotel Transylvania. It was pretty good, Vallerie really liked it. It has now replaced Despicable Me 2 as her "nap time" movie. (Usually she falls asleep to a movie at nap time)

I got my new glasses on Saturday. I'm still getting used to them. I think they look ok...

Vallerie has been interested in dinosaurs lately. (Eddie is thrilled) I printed off a few coloring pages for her which she calls her homework.

Since she was doing "homework", Eddie and I bought her a pre-k book. It's got a lot of coloring and tracing. Numbers, letters, colors, shapes, etc. So far we've done it 2 days in a row. She's pretty good at most of the stuff. We started off with colors and letters. Yesterday she wasn't paying attention and just wanted to play around so we stopped early.



Zooka is doing well with potty training. She has started to chase the cat around (to play). He is less than happy about that. Oh well, they will work it out.



Tuesday, February 11, 2014

February 11th

Last Friday I went to the mall and got my eyeballs checked. I got some new glasses (they aren't in yet). While I was doing that Eddie took Vallerie to the indoor playground. She had a good time running around. I was a little worried about germs. Normally I'm not like that, but it just seemed like the kids that were playing there were... a little dirty. I know that's not nice of me to say, but come on. When you leave the house you don't have to dress your kid in designer clothes, but you can at least put them in a non-stained shirt.

After I was done and we got Vallerie away from the play set (aka bribed) we went to the candy store! It was her first time and she was thrilled. She kept opening the buckets and wanting to reach her hand in to grab candy. It was cute. We got her a bunch of different gummies (my fave were/are the peach flavored penguins) and some little tootsie roll things. She also got a little stuffed tiger. She named it "Ty-Gee". (Even though the tag said it's name was Stripes. She did NOT want to name it that)





The lucky little darling also got to ride the tiny merry go round in the mall. She loved that too.





A couple weeks ago we bought Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2. We got the special one that came with a free gift. This one came with a lunchbox. Vallerie loves it. It's now her movie lunchbox, so when we have movie night we'll fill it with popcorn and candy. It's good because she can have her own stuff and not eat half of something and put it back in the big bowl. Nothing is grosser that eating a 1/2 soggy piece of popcorn!!

We also bought her a squishy brain that you dissect. The set came with a body and squishy organs too, but we think those are too small for her now. She really likes the brain though... Only, she doesn't like us to put the eyes in the skull because she doesn't want it looking at her. The box said 8+ but hey, who says she can't train to be a brain surgeon earlier than that?




We watched Puss N Boots over the weekend for movie night. Now Vallerie runs around pretending to be a Ninja (I guess that's what she thinks he is) She even asked me to buy/make her and Bot a Ninja costume. I suppose I'll have to do that soon.

So far Vallerie's current favorite movie is Despicable Me 2. She watches that movie over and over and over. She even quotes the damn thing! But, it's ok, she's cute.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

January 30th

So far the puppy is doing well. She is training nicely. It's Vallerie we're having a hard time "training" She is still rather rough with her puppy. She's getting better, but it's really hard to keep it together when you have to "train" them both constantly.

I got some yarn yesterday (it was on sale yay) I am going to make Vallerie a blanket. She has a zillion blankets, but I just want to make something for her, and I figured out how to do a granny square, so that's the plan. I also am going to make some more cat sweaters. My sisters cat apparently likes his, but it is too short, so I am going to make a longer one. A co-worker saw that one and asked me to make her one for her cat.

Got to work from home a couple days this week. It was nice. I was toasty warm in my office with the little heater blasting. I have one for work now too. Last time I used one I blew the fuse. I don't care. I am so sick of wearing 2 long sleeve shirts and my coat while I am working. There's less people hooked up to the cubicles I am at now so I don't think it will be a problem.

Eddie's been making lots of jerky. His latest was deer jerky. He's going to give some to his mom. It's really good. He can barely get one batch done before I eat it all.

We've moved the tent thing my mom made. It is now over Vallerie's bed. I just couldn't let her sleep on the floor every night. The little foam mat is just not the same as a mattress. It fits well, and she seems to like it, so for now, that's where it's going to stay.

Eddie and I have been watching Dexter on Netflix. I started watching it first, and he saw part of an episode and thought it looked good. Now he's ahead of me. If we tried to watch it at the same time/together we would never be able to get through all 8 seasons. Oh well.


Friday, January 24, 2014

January 24th

Exciting news! We have a puppy. We got her last week. Eddie and I had been discussing getting Vallerie a dog, so one night we were just looking online for info on breeds and searching shelters to see what was out there. We came across a shelter about an hour and a half away that had Australian Cattle dog/Shepherd puppies. There were a couple that we thought were super cute, so the next morning Eddie called the shelter. One of the pups was being adopted as he called (right when they opened) so he had them hold the other one so he and Vallerie could get there to check her out. I unfortunately had to work, so I didn't get to go, but they stopped by on their way home to show me the new addition to our family.





Vallerie bounced around some names, but finally settled on Zooka. (Other contenders were: No, Sky, Zuma, Stanky, and Stupid Jerk.) Zooka's middle name is Koopa, because I have brain freezes and can't always remember Zooka, I know. I'm too young to forget names. Sigh.

So far she's been great. She's potty training well. It's Vallerie that we're having problems with. She's just too rough. "No Vallerie, don't pick the puppy up by her neck" "Vallerie, don't pull on her arms" "Vallerie stop rolling over on her" "Vallerie you can't carry her by her neck/arms/legs/collar" "Vallerie, don't hit her with your toys" "Vallerie, don't run holding the dog" "Vallerie the dog doesn't like to dance in your arms" "Vallerie stop laying on her" "Vallerie you can't flip her with your spatula" "Vallerie, the dog doesn't like to play wheelbarrow".... Etc Etc Etc Etc... It's quite draining actually.

I can't really think of anything else that is going on. I've been wanting to crochet, but I can't think of anything to do. I printed off some sweater patterns for Vallerie, but I think those might be too difficult. Plus, by the time I have "free time" (haha) I don't really want to do anything. We'll probably have family movie night sometime next week. Cloudy With Meatballs 2 comes out on DVD Tuesday and I think we'll get that. We wanted to see it in theaters, but never did.

Monday, January 13, 2014

January 13th

A new year!

Last year seems like it flew by. I can't believe it's already the middle of January.

To catch up (since I haven't blogged in a while)...

Christmas was good. We did Eddie's family on Christmas Eve at his sister DaNina's house. There weren't any fights (kids or adults) so it was pretty pleasant, and since it wasn't at our house we didn't have a giant mess to clean up. Vallerie got some great things.

Christmas Day we had my family over to our house. My aunt was sick, so she didn't make it. It was a weird Christmas without her there and being at our house, but it was pretty fun. Vallerie asked Santa for a robot dog and luckily a happy elf named Jessica helped Santa out by getting the robot dog to our house for Vallerie to open on Christmas morning. She also got Hungry Hungry Hippos from Santa. That kid made out like a bandit. Eddie and I got her a really neat kitchen set. A friend of mine sent her a chef hat. She got a bunch of hot wheels and a mat with a city that she can drive them on. She got a bunch of books, some stuffed toys (a doll with a matching dress for her, a woolly mammoth which she named Monte, and a little reindeer with a book) My mom made her a little tent that you hang from the ceiling. She has been sleeping in that for about 2 weeks. (It's awesome, I want one for myself) and much much more.

Eddie got a beef Jerky machine and he's been making lots of jerky. It's delicious. He also made some dried fruit and vegetables. Vallerie really liked the dried fruits.

Exciting news:
Eddie and I are officially engaged!! He proposed on January 9th. The story of the proposal is not all that romantic, but that's ok.

I was in the bathroom hanging out while Vallerie and her cousin were in the tub (warming up after playing in the snow) and Eddie comes in and says "Lauren are you in a good mood?" I said "Sure I guess". Then he pulls out the box and says "Will you marry me?" I sat there in shock for a while and finally said "Of course!"
We haven't set a date yet, but it will likely be on a holiday or a date that Eddie can remember. He's so funny he said "I don't have to remember the day I proposed do I?".

I think that's about all for now. Happy 2014!